Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

15 Great Beach Reads To Read Anytime

Posted 7 months ago by April S

Okay, so summer isn't here yet, but that doesn't mean we can't think about sand, sun and beachy reads. Whether you're looking for books to read this summer, are going on vacation or just want to be transported to a different setting - we have some really great reading recommendations for you to check out. Enjoy!

Check Out These Fantastic Beach Reads

2018 Selections
Women in Sunlight by Frances Mayes
The High Tide Club by Mary Kay Andrews
The High Season by Judy Blundell
The proposal / Jasmine Guillory
When life gives you lululemons / a novel [by] Lauren Weisberger
Women in Sunlight by Frances Mayes

Four American women become unexpected friends during a magical year in Tuscany marked by a writer's complicated relationship with the subject of her biography, long-postponed dreams, and shifting senses of adventure and bravery.

The High Tide Club by Mary Kay Andrews

Hired by a millionaire from a vast barrier island home, an attorney learns the story of the new client's now-deceased friends, her determination to protect the land, clues about an unsolved murder, and her plans for heirs and descendants.

The High Season by Judy Blundell

Forced to rent out her family's seaside Long Island home every summer just so they can afford to keep it, Ruthie goes to extreme lengths to protect the life she loves in the wake of a suddenly estranged marriage, the return of an old flame, and her teen daughter's destructive relationship.

The Proposal by Jasmine Guillory

After a handsome doctor helps Nikole escape a ridiculous, public proposal, she starts having a series of hookups with him, but when things begin to get out of hand, one of them has to put the brakes on things.

When Life Gives You Lululemons by Lauren Weisberger

Emily Charlton, the beleaguered assistant-turned-successful Hollywood image consultant, teams up with a former ace lawyer-turned-Greenwich stay-at-home mom to retain the services of an A-list model and politician's wife.

2017 Selections

Beach House for Rent by Mary Alice Monroe
Secrets in Summer by Nancy Thayer
Hello Sunshine by Laura Dave
A Stardance Summer by Emily March - Eternity Springs, Book 13
The Little French Bistro by Nina George

Beach House for Rent by Mary Alice Monroe

The best-selling author of the Lowcountry Summer series presents a highly anticipated follow-up to "Beach House Memories" and "The Beach House."

Secrets in Summer by Nancy Thayer

Spending her days at the library and her nights stargazing and contemplating a new relationship, Darcy is unexpectedly drawn into the summertime dramas of three families, including those of her recently married ex, a situation that compels Darcy to consider what she truly wants.

Hello, Sunshine by Laura Dave

When revelations about her true identity come to light, culinary star Sunshine Mackenzie loses everything and returns to her childhood home in Montauk where she strives to reinvent herself.

A Stardance Summer by Emily March

Lilliana Howe, who is feeling disillusioned with her life after losing her job, decides to spend the summer with her landlady's glamping group at Stardance Ranch resort, only to learn that the resort is run by her childhood crush.

The Little French Bistro by Nina George

Overcome by regrets after decades in a loveless and unhappy marriage, Marianne attempts suicide and is abandoned by her husband before finding herself in picturesque Brittany, where she finds loving new friends who encourage her to develop her talents for her own pleasure.

2016 Selections

Forever Beach by Shelly Noble
Siracusa / Delia Ephron
The Girls in the Garden by Lisa Jewell
In Twenty Years by Allison Winn Scotch
Santorini Sunsets by Anita Hughes

Forever Beach by Shelly Noble

From the New York Times bestselling author of "Beach Colors" and "Breakwater Bay" comes this heartwarming story of love, family, and redemption. Two young girls pledged to be best friends forever. Separated by circumstance and hurt, they are reunited years later as they struggle to put their differences aside for the sake of a special little girl—perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah, Elin Hilderbrand, and Karen White.

Siracusa by Delia Ephron

Secrets and relationships unravel for two couples vacationing on coastal Sicily in a tale told from alternating points of view that gradually reveals an affair and a precocious ten-year-old's role in the group's psychological undoing.

The Girls in the Garden by Lisa Jewell

Deep in the heart of London, in a lush communal square, as a festive garden party is taking place, a thirteen year-old girl lies unconscious and bloody in a hidden corner. What really happened to her? And who is responsible? For fans of Liane Moriarty and Jojo Moyes comes a family drama with a dark mystery at its core, from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell.

In Twenty Years by Allison Winn Scotch

Gathering together on what would have been the 40th birthday of their late friend Bea, five friends, reunited in the place where so many dreams began, must confront old grudges, unrequited feelings and buried secrets in order to find their way back to each other.

Santorini Sunsets by Anita Hughes

Brigit Palmer is thrilled to be on the Greek Island of Santorini. She's here for her wedding to Hollywood heart-throb Blake Crawford, one of America's most eligible bachelors. Brigit's parents have rented a villa, and soon guests will arrive from all over the world for the intimate ceremony.


Looking for even more great summer reads?

Subscribe to our blog for weekly updates, check out the booklists on our website, or the explore the booklists below. And be sure to reach out to us - our librarians are here to help you find that next great read.

More Booklists to Explore

The 24 Best Books to Read This Summer – Elle

15 Books You Won't Be Able to Put Down This Summer - Cosmopolitan


Featured Image Credit: Beach Read (Pixabay, Creative Commons license).

Related Content