Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

7 Great YA Beach Reads For Summer 2016

Posted over 3 years ago by Kathryn M

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry, New: Books and Movies, Romance and Teen and Pre-Teens | Tagged with Beach Reads, Summer Reads, Teen, YA and Young Adult

Although summer doesn’t officially start until June 21st, many YA readers are already out of school and in summer mode. You know what that means? Time to grab your shades and fill that beach bag with a few great titles. No, I’m not talking about those required summer reading assignment books; I'm talking about the books you've been waiting all winter to find the time for. Whether you're traveling to a great oceanside resort, enjoying the sands a little closer to home, or chilling on a hammock in your backyard cabana, these YA reads of friendship, romance, and otherwise summery fun will have you flipping the pages and reading your summer away. So lather on the sunscreen and be careful not to get too much sand and splash between the pages.

Books

Love & gelato / by Jenna Evans Welch

Love & Gelato
by Jenna Evans Welch

Formats: Print | eBook

After her mother dies, Lina travels to Italy where she discovers her mother's journal and sets off on an adventure to unearth her mother's secrets.

"Lina narrates in a breezy style, her mother's journal entries interwoven to provide revelations at carefully paced intervals.Seasoned with luscious descriptions of Renaissance architecture and Italian food, a sure bet for fans of romance fiction and armchair travel." ~ Kirkus Reviews

The loose ends list / Carrie Firestone
The Loose Ends List

by Carrie Firestone

Formats: Print

Seventeen-year-old Maddie O'Neill Levine and her zany family accompany their terminally ill matriarch on her 'death with dignity' cruise, where Maddie falls in love, makes new friends, and struggles to find the strength to let go of her beloved Gram.

"The characters on the ship are relatable, endearing, and lovable. Filled with equal amounts of laugh- and tear-inducing moments, this debut novel will be impossible to put down. Fans of Jenny Downham's Before I Die or Jonathan Tropper's This Is Where I Leave You will enjoy this unique story about dying on one's own terms." ~ School Library Journal
The Square root of summer / Harriet Reuter Hapgood
The Square Root of Summer

by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

Formats: Print | eBook

Gottie Oppenheimer, a seventeen-year-old physics prodigy, navigates grief, love, and disruptions in the space-time continuum in one very eventful summer.

“Harriet Reuter Hapgood delivers a clever and compelling story of love, loss and resilience . . . an exciting, shouldn't-miss debut with a fresh and enthralling time-travel twist." ~ USA Today
Summer days and summer nights : twelve love stories / edited by Stephanie Perkins
Summer Days and Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories

Edited by Stephanie Perkins

Formats: Print | eBook

Maybe it's the long, lazy days, or maybe it's the heat making everyone a little bit crazy. Whatever the reason, summer is the perfect time for love to bloom. Summer Days & Summer Nights: Twelve Love Stories, written by twelve bestselling young adult writers and edited by the international bestselling Stephanie Perkins, will have you dreaming of sunset strolls by the lake. So set out your beach chair and grab your sunglasses. You have twelve reasons this summer to soak up the sun and fall in love.

"Readers will be enticed by more than steamy romance in this volume of contemporary love stories from 12 popular authors, a summery companion to My True Love Gave to Me. The selections, ranging in tone from heartfelt to spooky to downright outlandish, find passion springing from some very unexpected places." ~ Publisher's Weekly
Summer of supernovas / Darcy Woods
Summer of Supernovas

by Darcy Woods

Formats: Print

As the daughter of an astrologer, Wilamena Carlisle knows the truth lies within the stars, so when she discovers a rare planetary alignment she is forced to tackle her worst astrological fear -- The Fifth House of Relationships and Love -- but Wil must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her mother's legacy when she falls for a sensitive guitar player.

“A lovely, quirky, and hysterical book about questioning fate and what you’ve been taught to believe.”~ BookRiot
This is the story of you / Beth Kephart
This Is the Story Of You

by Beth Kephart

Formats: Print

Seventeen-year-old Mira lives in a small island beach town off the coast of New Jersey year-round, and when a devastating superstorm strikes she will face the storm's wrath and the destruction it leaves behind alone.

"Kephart’s worldbuilding is meticulous and vivid, with details that make Haven feel like a place out of time. This smart, poignant novel is an absolute pleasure to read." ~ Sarah Weber, BookPage
Two Summers / Aimee Friedman
Two Summers

by Aimee Friedman

Formats: Print

Two possible futures face Summer: either she will spend the summer in Provence with her father, uncovering family secrets, and exploring the old world, or she will stay in upstate New York, coping with her mother, and dreaming of her long time crush--and which future unfolds will depend on whether or not she answers a phone call.

"It’s a sweetly satisfying story about how even the smallest choices can affect one’s destiny." ~ Publisher's Weekly

Featured Image Credit: Image 420173 (Pixabay, Creative Commons license)

Related Content