Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

Great Early Fall Reads

Posted 12 months ago by Amy H

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry, History and Politics, Mysteries and Thrillers and Science Fiction and Fantasy | Tagged with adventure fiction, biographies, cold cases, fairy tales, family, FBI agents, Historical Fiction, Literary Fiction, neighbors, nonfiction, pirates fiction, sea stories, serial killers, social life and customs, United States History, unsolved murders and women sleuths

A short list of fall reads.

Continue Reading

What to Read-Watch-Listen to Next!

Posted 12 months ago by Amy H

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry, History and Politics, Movies and Music, Mysteries and Thrillers, Nonfiction, Romance, Science Fiction and Fantasy, Teen and Pre-Teens and Wellness: Fitness, Health and Spirituality | Tagged with action and adventure, artists, Coming of Age, give 3 get 3, Historical Fiction, inspirational, psychology, read alikes, Readers' Advisory, scientists, staff suggestions and YA Fiction

Feel like there’s nothing interesting to read/watch/listen to lately? We can help!

Continue Reading

Great New Nonfiction - Fall 2017

Posted 12 months ago by Amy H

Posted in Cooking, Garden and Home, History and Politics, New: Books and Movies and Nonfiction | Tagged with air, atmosphere, baseball, baseball history, baseball players, baseball records, baseball statistics, cookbooks, cooking, curious - history, desserts, fishing, nonfiction, shark fishing, sports and true adventure stories

There are so many wonderful nonfiction titles just waiting for a cozy reading nook and a curious reader.

Continue Reading

Best of Fantastic Fiction: Clever, Quirky Fantasy and Science Fiction

Posted about 1 year ago by Amy H

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks and Science Fiction and Fantasy | Tagged with adventure fiction, alternate worlds, dark humor, Fantasy Fiction, magic -- fiction, Paranormal Fiction, s/f, Sci-Fi, science fiction and scifi

Fans of Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman take note! Dark, clever stories with great characters, compelling plots and a wry appreciation for the weird have been gathered for your consumption.

Continue Reading

Read the Movie, Watch the Book: Part Two!

Posted about 1 year ago by Amy H

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, History and Politics, Movies and Music, Mysteries and Thrillers, New: Books and Movies and Outdoors, Sports and Travel | Tagged with adaptations, films and movies

Which is better - the book or the film? Each version always has its champion. For the most part, seeing a visual interpretation of a book is worth the time spent. Continue reading to explore a selection of book to film adaptations coming out in 2017.

Continue Reading