Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

Books for Fans of 1984: Compelling Dystopian Novels

Posted about 1 month ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry and Science Fiction and Fantasy | Tagged with adult books for young adults, Apocalyptic fiction, atmospheric, bleak, compelling, Dystopian fiction, intricately plotted, Literary fiction, Political Fiction, Read-Alikes, reflective, satirical fiction, Stylistically complex, thought-provoking and world-building

Dystopian fiction has been popular for quite some time now, so it's no surprise more people are rediscovering George Orwell's classic novel "1984." Below, you'll find classics from well-known authors like Margaret Atwood, Ray Bradbury and Octavia Butler along with recent selections by Pierce Brown, Chang-rae Lee, Chuck Palahniuk and many more.

Dystopian Classics

1984 by George Orwell

1984 by George Orwell


Portrays life in a future time when a totalitarian government watches over all citizens and directs all activities.
Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler

Parable of the Sower by Octavia E. Butler


In 2025 California, an eighteen-year-old African American woman, suffering from a hereditary trait that causes her to feel others' pain as well as her own, flees northward from her small community and its desperate savages.
Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury


In a society in which books are outlawed, Montag, a regimented fireman in charge of burning the forbidden volumes, meets a revolutionary school teacher who dares to read. Suddenly he finds himself a hunted fugitive, forced to choose not only between two women, but between personal safety and intellectual freedom.
Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood


A novel of the future explores a world that has been devastated by ecological and scientific disasters.
Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley


Aldous Huxley's profoundly important classic of world literature, "Brave New World" is a searching vision of an unequal, technologically-advanced future where humans are genetically bred, socially indoctrinated, and pharmaceutically anesthetized to passively uphold an authoritarian ruling order--all at the cost of our freedom, full humanity, and perhaps also our souls.

Modern Dystopian Novels

1Q84 by Haruki Murakami


An ode to George Orwell's "1984" told in alternating male and female voices relates the stories of Aomame, an assassin for a secret organization who discovers that she has been transported to an alternate reality, and Tengo, a mathematics lecturer and novice writer.
1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

The Forever Watch by David Ramirez


Traveling on a thousand-year journey aboard the space ship Noah, Hana Dempsey feels bereft after being required to have a baby she will never know and assists an investigation into a violent death that reveals the work of a race-threatening serial killer.
The Forever Watch by David Ramirez

The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi


What happens when bio-terrorism becomes a tool for corporate profits? What happens when this forces humanity to the cusp of post-human evolution? This is a tale of Bangkok struggling for survival in a post-oil era of rising sea levels and out-of-control mutation.
The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon


In the mid-21st century major world cities are controlled by a formidable security force, and clairvoyant underworld cell member, Paige, commits acts of psychic treason before being captured by an otherworldly race that would make her a part of their supernatural army.
The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

On Such a Full Sea by Chang-rae Lee


In a class-divided future America where urban neighborhoods function as labor colonies for elite charter villages, Fan, a female fish-tank diver, embarks on what becomes a legendary quest to find the man she loves in a region overcome by anarchic forces.

On Such a Full Sea by Chang-rae Lee

Wool by Hugh Howey


In a ruined and toxic landscape, a community exists in a giant silo underground, hundreds of stories deep. There, men and women live in a society full of regulations they believe are meant to protect them.
Wool by Hugh Howey

Taduno's Song by Odafe Atogun


A stunning debut from a fresh Nigerian literary voice: a mesmerizing, deceptively simple, Kafkaesque narrative, resonant of the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice and lightly informed by the life of Nigerian musical superstar Fela Kuti--a powerful story of love, sacrifice, and courage.
Taduno's Song by Odafe Atogun

Adjustment Day by Chuck Palahniuk


People pass the word only to those they trust most: Adjustment Day is coming. They’ve been reading a mysterious book and memorizing its directives. They are ready for the reckoning. "Adjustment Day," the author’s first novel in four years, is an ingeniously comic work in which Chuck Palahniuk does what he does best: skewer the absurdities in our society.
Adjustment Day by Chuck Palahniuk

Gnomon by Nick Harkaway


A tale set in a near-future, high-tech surveillance state follows the suspicious death of a dissident in custody and finds state inspector Mielikki Neith immersing herself in the victim's world, where she encounters a panorama of characters and innovations that transform her perspectives.
Gnomon by Nick Harkaway

Red Rising by Pierce Brown


Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded society of the future. Like his fellow Reds, he works all day, believing that he and his people are making the surface of Mars livable for future generations.
Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Looking for More Dystopian Reads?

The 30 Best Dystopian Novels of All Time

It Could Be Worse… Great Dystopian Reads

15 of the Best Dystopian Novels

Related Content