Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

Books for Fans of the TV Series The Americans

Posted about 1 year ago by April S

Spy novels have it all - action, drama, intrigue, espionage, complex characters and interesting storylines. That's probably the reason the spy genre translates so well on both the big and small screen. Stories with spies and anything involving the government have become really popular in recent years with TV shows like "Homeland," "The Blacklist" and the critically acclaimed FX series "The Americans."

"The Americans" stars Keri Russell and Matthew Rhys who play sleeper KGB agents posing as an average American married couple with children living the American dream in suburban Washington D.C. The show is set in the 1980s during the Reagan-era Cold War. It's definitely a show worth checking out. Unfortunately, "The Americans" is in it's sixth and final season.

Check out The Americans from the Library

The Americans - season one on DVD
The Americans - season two on DVD
The Americans - season three on DVD
The Americans - season four on DVD
The Americans - season five on DVD

Novels for Fans of the Television Series The Americans

Need to Know by Karen Cleveland

Need to Know by Karen Cleveland

Working to uncover Russian sleeper cells in the US, Vivian Miller, a CIA counterintelligence analyst, stumbles on a secret dossier of deep-cover agents within country that threatens everything that matters to her.

Also available in Large Print, Audio, eBook and eAudio.

Red Sparrow by Jason Matthews

Drafted against her will to serve the regime of Vladimir Putin as an intelligence seductress, Dominika Egorova is assigned to operate against first-tour CIA officer Nathaniel Nash, with whom she engages in a charged effort of deception and tradecraft before a forbidden attraction threatens their careers and the security of America's most valuable mole in Moscow.

Also available in Large Print, Audio, eBook and eAudio.

Red Sparrow by Jason Matthews
Red Star Falling by Brian Freemantle

Red Star Falling by Brian Freemantle

Landing in the custody of a Russian RSB that would eagerly exploit him for exposing a triple agent, MI5 spy Charlie Muffin struggles to survive and discern the fate of his family while British intelligence forces engage in contentious infighting to discover who revealed Charlie's identity.

The Company by Robert Littell

A novel of Cold War espionage traces the struggles of two generations of CIA operatives fighting Communism and battling one another in the complex world of international intrigue.

The Company: A Novel of the CIA by Robert Littell
Leaving Berlin by Joseph Kanon

Leaving Berlin by Joseph Kanon

Caught in the McCarthy anti-Communist investigations because of his prewar politics, a young Jewish writer who fled the Nazis to America makes a desperate bargain with the fledgling CIA to work as a spy in a decimated Berlin.

Also available in Audio, eBook and eAudio.

The Expats by Chris Pavone

Newly arrived in Luxembourg, mother and expat Kate Moore suspects that another American couple are not who they claim to be and as her paranoia grows, she becomes increasingly terrified that her own past is catching up with her.

Also available in Large Print, Audio, eBook and eAudio.

The Expats by Chris Pavone
The Spy Game by Georgina Harding

The Spy Game by Georgina Harding

Years after their German refugee mother disappears on the same day the media releases a story about a spy family, Anna and her brother, Peter, struggle to sort out facts and lies about their mother's identity and wonder if she had a secret life.

You Are One of Them by Elliott Holt

Traces the friendship between all-American girl Jenny and Sarah, the shy daughter of troubled parents, during the height of the Cold War, a bond that is nearly shattered by Jenny's unexpected fame and plane crash death that Sarah learns a decade later might have been a hoax.

Also available in Audio and eAudio.

You Are One of Them by Elliott Holt

Booklists for Fans of The Americans

10 Books to Read if You Like The Americans - Book Riot

Red Reads: Books for Fans of The Americans on FX - Early Bird Books

A Reading List for Fans of The Americans - MPR News

10 Books to Read if You Love Watching The Americans - Paste


You May Also Enjoy ...

A Brief History of the Spy Fiction Genre

Mission Accomplished: True Stories of Great Spies and Spycraft


LOOKING FOR YOUR NEXT GREAT READ?

LET US HELP YOU!

Tell us what you've enjoyed reading, watching or listening to, and our librarians will give you personalized recommendations.

No algorithms, cookies or data mining - just real experts in your community sharing their love of great books, music and movies with you. We call it Give 3 Get 3.

Get started today at

TOLEDOLIBRARY.ORG/GIVE3GET!


Related Content