Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

Celebrate Día Children’s Day by Reading Diverse Books

Posted 5 months ago by Heather H

Día, also known as El día de los niños/El día de los libros (Children’s Day/Book Day), is a nationally recognized initiative emphasizing the importance of literacy for all children from all backgrounds. It is a daily commitment to linking children and their families to diverse books, languages and cultures – and while it is the hope that Día happens everyday - the official celebration occurs annually on April 30.

Through Día, participating libraries such as ours, work to:

  • Connect children to the world of learning through books, stories and libraries.
  • Nurture cognitive and literacy development in ways that honor and embrace a child’s home language and culture.
  • Recognize and respect culture, heritage and language as powerful tools for strengthening families and communities.

This year’s Día has a focus on the importance of promoting STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art and math) books and learning for children from all backgrounds. On April 30th, please join us in reading a picture book with a diverse author, illustrator or main character at the following locations: Birmingham, King Road, Lagrange, Locke, Sanger, Sylvania and Waterville.

Can’t make it? You can still participate in Día by reading a diverse book with your child(ren).

Check out some of our recommended reads:

Nike Draws a Feeling
Niko Draws a Feeling by Robert Raczka and Simone Shin

Niko loves to draw his world: the ring-a-ling of the ice cream truck, the warmth of sun on his face. But no one appreciates his art, until one day, Niko meets Iris. This imaginative and tender story explores the creative process, abstract art, friendship and the universal desire to feel understood.
Libba Elizabeth Cotton
Libba: The Magnificent Musical Life of Elizabeth Cotten by Laura Veirs and Tatyana Fazlalizadeh
This lyrical, loving picture book from popular singer-songwriter Laura Veirs and debut illustrator Tatyana Fazlalizadeh tells the story of the determined, gifted, daring Elizabeth Cotten—one of the most celebrated American folk musicians of all time.
Grace Hopper
Grace Hopper by Laurie Wallmark and Katy Wu

The inspiring story of Grace Hopper—the boundary-breaking woman who revolutionized computer science—is told in an engaging picture book biography.
Dragons and Marshmallows
Dragons and Marshmallows by Asia Citro and Marion Lindsay

With magical animals, science, mystery and adventure - the brand new series Zoey and Sassafras has something for everyone! Easy-to-read language and illustrations on nearly every page make this series perfect for a wide range of ages.
The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole
The Care and Feeding of a Pet Black Hole by Michelle Cuevas

A girl's friendship with a lonely black hole leads her to face her own sadness in this original, funny, and touching middle grade novel for fans of Crenshaw and Flora & Ulysses.
Moonshot The Flight of Apollo 11
Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11 by National Geographic Learning

Simply told, grandly shown, here is the flight of Apollo 11 for a new generation of readers and explorers. Brian Floca explores Apollo 11’s famed moon landing with this beautifully illustrated picture book!
Super Women Six Scientists Who Changed the World
Super Women: Six Scientists Who Changed the World by Laurie Lawlor

Break through the glass ceiling with six incredible women whose scientific research changed the world. This diverse group of women, all with awe-inspiring accomplishments, were active mentors and determined people who wouldn’t take no for an answer.
First Rule of Punk
The First Rule of Punk by Celia C. Perez

A 2018 Pura Belpré Author Honor Book. A wry and heartfelt exploration of friendship, finding your place and learning to rock out like no one’s watching. Black and white illustrations and collage art throughout make it a perfect pick for fans of books like Roller Girl and online magazines like Rookie.
Girls Who Code
Girls Who Code: Learn to Code and Change the World by Reshma Saujani

A New York Times bestseller! Part how-to, part girl-empowerment, and all fun, from the leader of the Girls Who Code movement championed by Sheryl Sandberg, Malala Yousafzai and John Legend.
Seeing into Tomorrow
Seeing Into Tomorrow: Haiku by Richard Wright and Nina Crews

Paired with the photo-collage artwork of Nina Crews, Seeing into Tomorrow celebrates the lives of contemporary African American boys and offers an accessible introduction to Richard Wright, one of the most important African American writers of the twentieth century.
“I read to my daughter because at her age, babies are listening and watching everything. I want her to love to learn new things. This is also a time where we bond as mother and daughter. I believe it is very important to read to her because when I am reading to her, she loves looking at the pictures and pointing at certain things. When she points at something I always make sure to tell her what she is pointing or looking at. Reading helps develop a child’s brain. My favorite books to read to my daughter are The Very Hungry Caterpillar and Buzz Buzz Baby.” – Sonia, Library customer and mother

Related Content