Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

Psychological Thrillers

Posted over 2 years ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry, Movies and Music, Mysteries and Thrillers and Teen and Pre-Teens | Tagged with Detective and mystery stories, Psychological Fiction, Psychological Thriller, suspense, suspense-fiction, teen fiction, Thrillers and Young Adult Fiction

When you're looking for a good Psychological Thriller - it's safe to say you probably want something that will keep your interest and maybe even surprise you with twists and turns. Perhaps you're in the mood for one of those really creepy, edge of your seat, nail-biting good reads that will keep you awake all night? Or maybe you simply want to delve into a few really good page-turners? 

What's the difference between a Thriller and Psychological Thriller?

Thrillers usually place a great deal of emphasis on action. Psychological thrillers, on the other hand, pay greater attention to the mind games that people play with each other or even with themselves. Keep in mind, this genre may be listed under many different subheadings like Suspense Fiction, Psychological Fiction, Psychological Horror, Psychological Suspense, Mystery Fiction and Thriller to name a few. ~ Novelist Plus

Recent Psychological Thrillers available at your local library

Most Wanted by Lisa ScottolineMost Wanted by Lisa Scottoline

Formats: Print | Large Print | Audiobook | Pocket Audiobook | eBook | eAudiobook

When a woman and her husband, desperate for a baby, find themselves unable to conceive, they decide to take further steps. Since it is the husband who is infertile, the heroine decides to use a donor. And all seems to be well. Three months pass and she is happily pregnant. But a shocking revelation occurs when she discovers that a man arrested for a series of brutal murders is her donor -- the biological father of the child she is carrying. Delving deeper to uncover the truth, the heroine must face her worst fears, and confront a terrifying truth.

"A page-turner that will satisfy." ~ Library Journal 

A suburban crime tale told with Scottoline’s penchant for humor and soul-baring characterization." ~ Booklist

"In novel after novel, Lisa Scottoline has proven herself a master of stories that combine familial love ― especially that of mothers for their children ― with nail-biting stories of spirited everywomen bent on finding the truth. Her new novel, Most Wanted, demonstrates again her skill with this kind of domestic suspense tale." ~ The Washington Post
The Darkest Corners by Kara ThomasThe Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas

Formats: Print | eBook | eAudiobook

When her father dies, Tessa is pulled back to the small Pennsylvania town where her life came apart when her father was sent to prison, her mother went to pieces, and her beloved older sister ran away, and where her testimony and that of her now-estranged friend Callie sent a serial killer to death row--a serial killer who may be getting a new trial as long buried secrets come to light.

“Thomas carefully crafts the suspense, leaving present-tense narrator Tessa—and readers—to doubt even those she loves the most … An unsettling story of loss, lies, and violence lurking in the shadows of a small town.” ~ Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"You'll be up all night tearing through the pages, gasping through the twists and turns." ~ Bustle.com

“A tight, twisted thriller, full of deft reversals and disturbing revelations—deeply, compulsively satisfying!” ~ Brenna Yovanoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Replacement

"Expertly plotted with plenty of twists and turns—never mind a truly shocking conclusion—this gritty thriller is sure to find a wide audience among teens and adults alike. Equally concerned with a quest for the truth and the powerful motivation of guilt, this compelling novel won’t linger on the shelf." ~ Booklist, starred review
The Passenger by Lisa LutzThe Passenger by Lisa Lutz

Formats: Print | Audiobook | eBook | eAudiobook

This is a compulsively readable story of a young woman who has to keep switching identities and stay on the run. Is she a reliable narrator or not? What was the original event that sent her on the run? There is a lot of action and suspense as she tries to survive and evade the law while trying to keep her moral center intact. Unlike Lutz’s Spellman books, this reads more like a Charles Portis road novel, though considerably more serious and dangerous. Highly recommended. -- Beth DeGeer for LibraryReads.

"Binge-worthy fare, especially for those drawn to strong female protagonists." ~ Booklist (starred review)

“With The Passenger, Lutz has re-introduced herself as a more serious—and intriguing—author of crime fiction.” ~ Washington Post

“Lutz’s complex web of finely honed characters will keep readers turning the pages.” ~ Publishers Weekly

“Lutz's pacing is excellent, and the interior monologue captures what it would be like not to have a name or, even worse, a valid ID. Lutz provides some great suggestions for going on the lam (a lot of hair dye and car switching is involved), but at its core, this is a novel about identity: a slippery notion which depends upon both how the world sees us and how we see ourselves.” ~ Kirkus Reviews
No One Knows by J.T. EllisonNo One Knows by J.T. Ellison

Formats: Print | Audiobook | eBook

In an obsessive mystery as thrilling as The Girl on the Train and The Husband's Secret, the New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Nicholas Drummond series will make you question every twist in her page turning novel and wonder which of her vividly drawn characters you should trust. As her heroine faces the possibility that everything she thinks she knows about herself, her marriage, and her husband is a lie, Ellison expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. In a masterful thriller for readers who love Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins, Ellison pulls you into a you'll never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops no one knows.

“Riveting… a skillfully plotted story that’s equal parts mystery, psychological thriller, and cautionary tale. Comparisons to Gone Girl are inevitable....Artful and evocative prose complements the fully fleshed and realistically drawn characters." ~ Publishers Weekly

"J.T. Ellison's stand-alone thriller is a slow burn suspense that heats up, page-by-page, until the shocking end. No One Knows is unputdownable, a gripping story that begs to be read in one sitting." ~ Allison Brennan, New York Times bestselling author of No Good Deed.

Looking for more great reads, try these Thrillers on for size ...

The Girl From Home by Adam MitznerThat Darkness by Lisa BlackAll Things Cease To Appear by Elizabeth Brundage
Sleeping giants by Sylvain NeuvelKeep You Close by Lucie WhitehouseThe Girl You Lost by Kathryn Croft

Looking for your next great read?

Let us help you!

Tell us what you've enjoyed reading, watching or listening to, and our librarians will give you personalized recommendations.

No algorithms, cookies or data mining - just real experts in your community sharing their love of great books, music and movies with you. We call it Give 3 Get 3.

Get started today at

toledolibrary.org/Give3Get!

Featured Image Credit: Eye on the black background by George Hoden via PublicDomainImages.net, public domain license.

Related Content

New for Kids

Check out our new and engaging picture books and juvenile fiction and non-fiction books!