Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

12 Spooky and Terror-Filled Short Story Collections to Read with the Lights On

Posted 4 months ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry and Science Fiction and Fantasy | Tagged with anthologies, Edgar Allan Poe, Ghost Stories, Gothic, Halloween, Haunted Houses, haunting, Horror, horror tales, Paranormal Fiction, scary stories, Short Stories, spooky and supernatural

Spooky and haunting tales to read on Halloween or anytime.

Continue Reading: 12 Spooky and Terror-Filled Short Story Collections to Read with the Lights On

Book, Humbug!

Posted about 1 year ago by Eric P

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry and History and Politics | Tagged with A Christmas Carol, British society, Charles Dickens, Christmas stories, classics, England - 19th century, Ghost Stories, holiday stories, holidays, novelists - biography, Short Stories, Victorian society, writers and writers - biography

The new movie The Man Who Invented Christmas purports to tell all about Charles Dickens and his most famous creation. But there's more to it than that.

Continue Reading: Book, Humbug!

Psychological Horror: 10 Suspenseful and Creepy Reads

Posted about 1 year ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry, Mysteries and Thrillers, New: Books and Movies, Science Fiction and Fantasy and Teen and Pre-Teens | Tagged with Ghost Stories, Horror, monsters, Psychological Fiction, Psychological Suspense, Short Stories and Suspense Fiction

Fans of Ghost Stories, Horror and Psychological Suspense will enjoy this blog post.

Continue Reading: Psychological Horror: 10 Suspenseful and Creepy Reads

Haunted Midwest Travel for Those Who Dare!

Posted about 1 year ago by Heather H

Posted in Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry, Local History, Mysteries and Thrillers, Outdoors, Sports and Travel and Science Fiction and Fantasy | Tagged with Ghost Stories, Haunted Houses, haunted places, midwest, scary books, scary stories, travel and traveling

Love to be spooked? Here's a list of Midwest locations to visit this October (and some book recommendations as well)!

Continue Reading: Haunted Midwest Travel for Those Who Dare!

Supernatural Thrillers

Posted about 1 year ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry, Movies and Music, Mysteries and Thrillers, Science Fiction and Fantasy and Teen and Pre-Teens | Tagged with eMedia, Fantasy Fiction, Ghost Stories, Gothic Fiction, Gothic Fiction, Hauntings, Historical Fiction, Horror, Magical Realism, Paranormal Fiction, Psychological Suspense, streaming video, Supernatural Mysteries, Suspense Fiction and Technothriller

Supernatural thrillers spanning multiple genres.

Continue Reading: Supernatural Thrillers

Campfire Stories

Posted over 3 years ago by Linda F

Posted in Children and Parenting, eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry and Teen and Pre-Teens | Tagged with campfire tales, folk tales, folklore, Ghost Stories, Halloween, haunted places, Hauntings, Horror, horror tales, legends and scary stories

Campfires and storytelling go hand in hand. Continue reading to explore a selection of ghost stories, folklore and legends to inspire your next campfire tale.

Continue Reading: Campfire Stories