Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

12 Spooky and Terror-Filled Short Story Collections to Read with the Lights On

Posted 7 months ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction and Science Fiction and Fantasy | Tagged with anthologies, Edgar Allan Poe, Ghost Stories, Gothic, Halloween, Haunted Houses, haunting, Horror, horror tales, Paranormal Fiction, scary stories, Short Stories, spooky and supernatural

Spooky and haunting tales to read on Halloween or anytime.

Continue Reading: 12 Spooky and Terror-Filled Short Story Collections to Read with the Lights On

Book, Humbug!

Posted about 1 year ago by Eric P

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction and History and Politics | Tagged with A Christmas Carol, British society, Charles Dickens, Christmas stories, classics, England - 19th century, Ghost Stories, holiday stories, holidays, novelists - biography, Short Stories, Victorian society, writers and writers - biography

The new movie The Man Who Invented Christmas purports to tell all about Charles Dickens and his most famous creation. But there's more to it than that.

Continue Reading: Book, Humbug!

Psychological Horror: 10 Suspenseful and Creepy Reads

Posted about 1 year ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Mysteries and Thrillers, New Books and Movies, Science Fiction and Fantasy and Teen and Pre-Teens | Tagged with Ghost Stories, Horror, monsters, Psychological Fiction, Psychological Suspense, Short Stories and Suspense Fiction

Fans of Ghost Stories, Horror and Psychological Suspense will enjoy this blog post.

Continue Reading: Psychological Horror: 10 Suspenseful and Creepy Reads

Supernatural Thrillers

Posted about 1 year ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Movies and Music, Mysteries and Thrillers, Science Fiction and Fantasy and Teen and Pre-Teens | Tagged with eMedia, Fantasy Fiction, Ghost Stories, Gothic Fiction, Gothic Fiction, Hauntings, Historical Fiction, Horror, Magical Realism, Paranormal Fiction, Psychological Suspense, streaming video, Supernatural Mysteries, Suspense Fiction and Technothriller

Supernatural thrillers spanning multiple genres.

Continue Reading: Supernatural Thrillers