Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

10 Best Fiction Books of 2018

Posted about 3 days ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry and New: Books and Movies | Tagged with best books of 2018, Best Books of the Year, best fiction, books to read, Historical Fiction, notable books, reading recommendations and Short Stories

So many books, so little time. A short list that includes notable fiction titles from 2018 and lots of "best of the year" lists to explore for further reading.

Continue Reading: 10 Best Fiction Books of 2018

9 Wonderfully Witty, Fast-Paced Funny Fiction Novels

Posted about 14 days ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry, Mysteries and Thrillers, Romance and Science Fiction and Fantasy | Tagged with appeal, caper novels, character-driven, Crime Fiction, detectives, Domestic Fiction, engaging, family relationships, fast-paced, funny fiction, Historical Fiction, Humorous Fiction, likable, Love Stories, murder mysteries, offbeat, plot-driven, quirky, satirical fiction, Short Stories, snarky, suspense, Unconventional and witty

Fans of witty writing and fast-paced stories with humor sprinkled in will love these books.

Continue Reading: 9 Wonderfully Witty, Fast-Paced Funny Fiction Novels

12 Spooky and Terror-Filled Short Story Collections to Read with the Lights On

Posted 2 months ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry and Science Fiction and Fantasy | Tagged with anthologies, Edgar Allan Poe, Ghost Stories, Gothic, Halloween, Haunted Houses, haunting, Horror, horror tales, Paranormal Fiction, scary stories, Short Stories, spooky and supernatural

Spooky and haunting tales to read on Halloween or anytime.

Continue Reading: 12 Spooky and Terror-Filled Short Story Collections to Read with the Lights On

7 Offbeat Funny Fiction Novels Featuring Quirky Characters

Posted 3 months ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry, Movies and Music, Mysteries and Thrillers, New: Books and Movies, Romance and Science Fiction and Fantasy | Tagged with appeal, books to read, character-driven, eccentrics, engaging, funny fiction, humorous stories, offbeat, quirky, Readers' Advisory, Short Stories, unusual and witty

Offbeat stories featuring eccentric and quirky characters.

Continue Reading: 7 Offbeat Funny Fiction Novels Featuring Quirky Characters

10 Genuinely Funny Funny Fiction Books You're Sure to Love

Posted 3 months ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry, Mysteries and Thrillers, Romance and Science Fiction and Fantasy | Tagged with book recommendations, conversational, energetic, engaging, families, fast-paced, funny fiction, hilarious, humorous stories, offbeat, quirky, sardonic, Satire, Short Stories, suspense, upbeat and witty

An eclectic mix of humorous books that are endlessly entertaining and quirky that will make you laugh out loud.

Continue Reading: 10 Genuinely Funny Funny Fiction Books You're Sure to Love

No Capes Required! Comics Embrace All Literary Genres

Posted 6 months ago by Juliette H

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry, Science Fiction and Fantasy and Teen and Pre-Teens | Tagged with action, adventure, comic books, dystopias, graphic novels, Horror, Short Stories, Superheroes, westerns and Young Adult Fiction

If you haven’t picked up a comic in a while, one of these titles may be the perfect place to get reacquainted.

Continue Reading: No Capes Required! Comics Embrace All Literary Genres

Weird But True: This Lesser Known Fiction Genre is Making A Comeback

Posted 10 months ago by Juliette H

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry and Science Fiction and Fantasy | Tagged with anthologies, dystopian fiction, experimental fiction, ghost stories, Gothic Fiction, haunted house, Historical Fiction, Horror Fiction, horror tales, Magical Realism, Paranormal Fiction, Sci-Fi, Short Stories, speculative fiction, supernatural horror, Suspense Fiction, urban fantasy, vampires - fiction and weird fiction

Weird fiction is characterized primarily by its blending of science fiction, fantasy, horror and just about every other fiction genre to create something entirely new.

Continue Reading: Weird But True: This Lesser Known Fiction Genre is Making A Comeback

The Best Fiction and Nonfiction Books of 2017

Posted 12 months ago by April S

Posted in Business and Investing, eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry, History and Politics, Mysteries and Thrillers, New: Books and Movies, Nonfiction, Romance, Science Fiction and Fantasy and Teen and Pre-Teens | Tagged with best books 2017, Best Books of the Year, best fiction, best nonfiction, booklists, books to read, Detective and Mystery Fiction, Domestic Fiction, Families Fiction, family relationships, Historical Fiction, Humorous Fiction, leadership, Literary Fiction, notable books, Political Fiction, Psychological Fiction, reading recommendations, Short Stories, Spy Fiction, Suspense Fiction, World War I Fiction and World War II Fiction

Explore a selection of the "best of the best" fiction and nonfiction books of 2017.

Continue Reading: The Best Fiction and Nonfiction Books of 2017

Book, Humbug!

Posted 12 months ago by Eric P

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry and History and Politics | Tagged with A Christmas Carol, British society, Charles Dickens, Christmas stories, classics, England - 19th century, Ghost Stories, holiday stories, holidays, novelists - biography, Short Stories, Victorian society, writers and writers - biography

The new movie The Man Who Invented Christmas purports to tell all about Charles Dickens and his most famous creation. But there's more to it than that.

Continue Reading: Book, Humbug!

Psychological Horror: 10 Suspenseful and Creepy Reads

Posted about 1 year ago by April S

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Fiction, Graphic Novels and Poetry, Mysteries and Thrillers, New: Books and Movies, Science Fiction and Fantasy and Teen and Pre-Teens | Tagged with Ghost Stories, Horror, monsters, Psychological Fiction, Psychological Suspense, Short Stories and Suspense Fiction

Fans of Ghost Stories, Horror and Psychological Suspense will enjoy this blog post.

Continue Reading: Psychological Horror: 10 Suspenseful and Creepy Reads