Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

Wonderful, Upbeat End-of-Summer Reads

Posted about 30 days ago by Amy H

Posted in eBooks & eAudiobooks, Fiction, Literature, Poetry & Graphic Novels, Movies, Music, & Audiobooks, New and Science Fiction & Fantasy | Tagged with domestic fiction, families - fiction, Psychological Fiction and women-fiction

It's hard to believe the end of summer is almost here. According to the Old Farmer's Almanac, the Fall Equinox begins on September 22nd, so we have to say goodbye to summer soon. To make the transition a little more enjoyable, we put together a selection of wonderful, upbeat, end of the summer reads - enjoy!

Hello, Sunshine by Laura Dave
The captain's daughter : a novel / Meg Mitchell Moore
Class mom : a novel / Laurie Gelman
How to find love in a bookshop / Veronica Henry
The luster of lost things / Sophie Chen Keller

Hello Sunshine by Laura Dave

Sunshine Mackenzie is a culinary star with millions of fans and a devoted, supportive husband.  And then she gets hacked, her darkest secrets are revealed and she loses everything. Forced to return to her childhood home—and the estranged sister—she’s tried hard to forget, what Sunshine does amid the ashes of her own destruction may well save her life.

The Captain’s Daughter by Meg Mitchell Moore

For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have been.

Class Mom by Laurie Gelman

Relatable, irreverent and hilarious in the spirit of Maria Semple, Gelman’s clever novel about a year in the life of a kindergarten class mom is a brilliant send-up of the surprisingly cutthroat terrain of parent politics.

Additional Formats: Pocket Audio | eBook | eAudio

How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry

The enchanting story of a bookshop, its grieving owner, a supportive literary community, and the extraordinary power of books to heal the heart.

The Luster of Lost Things by Sophie Chen Keller

In this story for readers of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and A Man Called Ove, when all seems lost, a silent young man accompanied by his overweight golden retriever goes on a journey to find what matters most.

Additional Formats: eAudio

Give 3 Get 3 (personalized recommendations)

Related Content