Library policies and procedures are reviewed on a regular basis and are subject to change as the circumstances change.
All DVDs – 7 days, limit 10
All VHSs – 7 days, no limit
Music CDs - 21 days, limit 20
Books on CD – 21 days, limit 20
Pocket Audio - 21 days, limit 10
Pocket Video - 7 days, limit 2
Overdrive (eBooks: 7, 14, or 21 days, Audiobooks: 7, 14, or 21 days, eVideo: 3, 5 or 7 days and eMusic: 3, 5, or 7 days): Limit 20
Freegal (music): Limit 3 songs per week
All other materials – 21 days, no limit
If no holds, 10 renewals permitted per item.
Books, Audio and VHS: 20 cents per day
DVD and Pocket Video: 50 cents per day
Replacement Library Card: $1
Books, Audio and VHS: 10 cents per day
DVD and Pocket Video: 25 cents per day
Replacement Library Card: 50 cents
Senior Card and Ability Card holders--no overdue fines.
Kids Card holders--limit 3 book check out--no overdue fines.
The Library charges replacement price plus a $5.00 processing fee for lost materials. Replacement cost (less $5 for processing) will be refunded within 30 days. To obtain refund, receipt must accompany item.
Additional Service Fees:
Obituary: No fee, limit 3 per request
Collection Agency Fee: $10
AV Case Damage: $5
Power Cord Replacement: $15
Excessive fines or overdue materials may result in loss of library privileges.
Copy, Printing, Faxing and Scanning Fees:
Black and white - $.15 per copy with Library card
Black and white - $.20 with coins
Color - $.50 per copy with Library card
Color - $.55 per copy with coins
$.50 per fax sent (faxes may be sent to local and long distance numbers, no international numbers)
Faxing of library materials by staff
$.30 per page if faxing to a location outside in Lucas County
$1.50 fee plus $.30 per page to locations outside Lucas County
No cost for scanning, printing fees listed above.
Materials from other libraries:
All DVDs and VHS - 7 days
All books and other media not listed above - 21 days
3 renewals per item
All materials: 50 cents per day
Lost or damaged items: $25
Books - 21 days
All media - 7 days
4 renewals for books, no renewals for media
All materials: 50 cents per day
Lost or damaged materials: $15 fine + $25 billing fee + $75 replacement cost = $125
Your library card is the key to unlocking the endless possibilities of the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library’s collection. Simple to get, even easier to use and priced so everyone can afford it, your library card is Lending You the World.
All Ohio residents may apply for a free Toledo-Lucas County Public Library card at any local branch. Residents of other states who pay Ohio property or payroll taxes also qualify for a free Library card. Proof of tax payment required.
In addition, the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library offers any organization (schools, businesses, churches, non-profit organizations) in the state of Ohio the opportunity to obtain an organization card. Please click here for more information.
While a Library Card is available to all who request it, library use is a privilege, one that comes with responsibilities. When you register for a card, you agree to be responsible for all materials borrowed and any overdue fines and any loss or damage of Library materials.
Your Library Card belongs to the Toledo-Lucas County Public Library system and may not be used by other persons. You should have it with you to borrow materials from the Library or to use the Internet. Customers under the age of 17 need the signature of a parent or guardian who must show a valid ID with current address to receive a library card. Both child and parent/guardian must be present. Kids Card does not require a parent's signature. Please call 419.259.5200 for more information.
If you lose your card, notify Library staff immediately, so others do not abuse your privileges. If not reported, you are responsible for a maximum of $50 toward the cost of the items checked out on your card after it is lost or stolen if a police report is furnished within 30 days of loss. Notify the Library promptly of a change of name, address, or phone number.