Home
October 1, 2014 |
How Do I ...?
 
 
Poetry in Your Community
 

Artomatic 419!
Artomatic 419! is a biennial program (held every-other year) in the Toledo, Ohio area.  It aims to highlight, connect, and promote Toledo's creative community by creating an atmosphere for artists to network and interact while providing an open-to-all opportunity for artists to exhibit their work. In turn, Artomatic 419! helps to showcase to the community and general public the wide array of artists and styles and the vast amount of talent that Toledo-area creatives have to offer. Artomatic 419! is inspired by the original Artomatic held annually in Washington D.C., founded by Bowling Green native, George Koch.  

MADD Poets Society
A literary arts program dedicated to making a direct difference in our community, through poetry and lyrical self-expression.

The Mill
The Mill is a literary magazine sponsored by the University of Toledo's English Department.

Submissions sent to: TheMillMagazine@gmail.com

The Mill Magazine on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/themillmagazine

The Mill Magazine Blog: http://themillmagazine.blogspot.com/

 

Ohio Poetry Association
The Ohio Poetry Association (OPA) promotes the art of poetry and supports poets and others who appreciate poetry. Since being organized as in Columbus in 1929, the OPA has become statewide in scope. They are eager to assist poets, whether amateur or professional, as they hone their craft. The OPA works extensively in Ohio schools, helping students to understand, enjoy, and create poetry. The Ohio Poetry Association and its chapters sponsor and underwrite student poetry contests, including a spring high school competition that has been offered since 1976.

Blog:  http://ohiopoetryassn.blogspot.com/

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/ohiopoetry

Toledo Poetry Museum
The Toledo Poetry Museum is small group of writers interested in being a part of and promoting events in Toledo. Most of all, they want to see the Toledo writing community evolve and grow. Back to Jack is an annual Jack Kerouac reading, held on the anniversary of his death, October 20th.

For more information, please contact Michael.kocinski@gmail.com or check out them out on their blog or Facebook.

Blog: http://toledopoetrymuseum.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Toledo-Poetry-Museum/181745535172597

 

Toledo Poet
A website created by local poets to encourage connections and provide information related to local poetry events.

 

Check out these great Poetry Resources

All Poetry  http://allpoetry.com/

Library of Congress  http://www.loc.gov/poetry/

Ohio Memory – Poets of Ohio:  http://www.ohiohistoryhost.org/ohiomemory/archives/578

PBS Newshour  http://www.pbs.org/newshour/poetry/

Poetry Everywhere  http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/poetryeverywhere/

Poetry Foundation  http://www.poetryfoundation.org/

Poetry Out Loud  http://www.poetryoutloud.org/

Poetry Society of America  http://www.poetrysociety.org/psa/

Poets.org (Academy of American Poets)  http://www.poets.org/

Poets & Writers  http://www.pw.org/

Poets House  http://www.poetshouse.org/

Scholastic  http://teacher.scholastic.com/writewit/poetry/