New African American Fiction


Book Cover: Notes from a Black Woman's Diary: Selected Works of Kathleen Collins

Notes from a Black Woman's Diary: Selected Works of Kathleen Collins

Author: Kathleen Collins

ISBN: 9780062800954

A stunning collection of fiction, diary entries, screenplays, and scripts by the brilliant African-American artist and filmmakerRelatively unknown during her life, the artist, filmmaker, and writer Kathleen Collins emerged on the literary scene in 2016 with the posthumous publication of the short story collection Whatever Happened to Interracial Love? Said...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: We Cast a Shadow: A Novel

We Cast a Shadow: A Novel

Author: Maurice Carlos Ruffin

ISBN: 9780525509066

A bold, provocative debut for fans of Get Out and Paul Beatty's The Sellout, about a father's obsessive quest to protect his son - even if it means turning him white"An incisive and necessary work of brilliant satire." - Roxane Gay, author of Bad Feminist"You can be beautiful, even more...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: American Spy: A Novel

American Spy: A Novel

Author: Lauren Wilkinson

ISBN: 9780812998955

What if your sense of duty required you to betray the man you love? One woman struggles to choose between her honor and her heart in this enthralling espionage drama that deftly hops between New York and West Africa. It's 1986, the heart of the Cold War, and Marie Mitchell...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Fearless King

The Fearless King

Author: Katee Robert

ISBN: 9781455597123

From the New York Times bestselling author of Undercover Attraction comes a sexy convenience romance between the heir to a Texas oil company and the rugged, dangerous man who may be the only one who can help her out of deep family drama. Ultra-wealthy and super powerful, the King family...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Pleasured by You

Pleasured by You

Author: Elle Wright

ISBN: 9781496716040

For decades, the fate of Wellspring, Michigan, has been tied to the Wells family's fortunes - for better and worse. Their corporation keeps the small town afloat, despite the greed and corruption at its heart. But now, as the next generation comes into its own, a new day dawns ...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Over the Fence

Over the Fence

Author: Mary Monroe

ISBN: 9781496716149

In this page-turning novel set in the Depression-era South, New York Times bestselling author Mary Monroe transports readers to a small Alabama town where home is not always a sanctuary, and two neighboring families let pleasantries mask increasing resentment. . . Bootlegging was Milton and Yvonne Hamilton's ticket out of...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Josephine Baker's Last Dance

Josephine Baker's Last Dance

Author: Sherry Jones

ISBN: 9781501102448

From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker - actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Queenie

Queenie

Author: Candice Carty-Williams

ISBN: 9781501196010

"[B]rilliant, timely, funny, heartbreaking." - Jojo Moyes, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You Bridget Jones's Diary meets Americanah in this disarmingly honest, boldly political, and truly inclusive novel that will speak to anyone who has gone looking for love and found something very different in its...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Perfect Love Storm

The Perfect Love Storm

Author: Anna Black

ISBN: 9781601621023

A playboy bachelor helps a grieving widow learn to love again, but her heart is broken once more when she learns their relationship was based on a bet in the latest novel from Anna Black.Chase Storm is a rich, young bachelor with no intention of settling down. His reputation as...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Blurred Lines

Blurred Lines

Author: Mona Scott-Young

ISBN: 9781939126290

When Carys Reece, the daughter of music royalty Bishop and Alana Reece, and her boyfriend, up-and-coming recording artist Nikko Williams, decide it's time to move past the "safe zone" and take their relationship to the next level, their long-awaited sexy getaway is derailed by a shocking family intervention. They soon...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

Author: Anissa Gray

ISBN: 9781984802439

The Mothers meets An American Marriage in this dazzling debut novel about mothers and daughters, identity and family, and how the relationships that sustain you can also be the ones that consume you.The Butler family has had their share of trials - as sisters Althea, Viola, and Lillian can attest...

Check the Catalog

Give 3 Get 3

Get personal recommendations from our staff. We would love to suggest new authors and titles that you might like. Please give us a little information on what you’ve enjoyed recently and we will offer three personalized suggestions.

Get Personal Recommendations

More To Discover