New African American Fiction


Book Cover: Treason of Hawks

Treason of Hawks

Author: Lila Bowen

ISBN: 9780316502375

The conclusion to Lila Bowen's widely-acclaimed fantasy series, which New York Times bestselling author Kevin Hearne described as "thrilling, delightfully written, and important."Rhett Walker is looking for peace, the memories of all he's lost haunting his dreams. And now the Shadow tugs him West, back to where his journey began...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: How Are You Going to Save Yourself

How Are You Going to Save Yourself

Author: J M HOLMES

ISBN: 9780316514880

"JM Holmes is not just a new voice but a new force: honest, urgent, compelling, often hilarious, and more often gut-wrenching. Comparisons to Junot Díaz and Denis Johnson are perhaps inevitable, but I imagine they'll prove short-lived; in a few years we'll be comparing writers to JM Holmes." --Rebecca Makkai...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Up From Freedom

Up From Freedom

Author: WAYNE GRADY

ISBN: 9780385685115

For readers of Colson Whitehead, James McBride, Yaa Gyasi and Lawrence Hill, Up From Freedom is a powerful and emotional novel about the dangers that arise when we stay silent in the face of prejudice or are complicit in its development.As a young man, Virgil Moody vowed he would never...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Proposal

The Proposal

Author: Jasmine Guillory

ISBN: 9780399587689

"There is so much to relate to and throughout the novel, there is a sharp feminist edge. Loved this one, and you will too."--Roxane Gay, New York Times bestselling authorThe author of The Wedding Date serves up a novel about what happens when a public proposal doesn't turn into a...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Intercepted

Intercepted

Author: Alexa Martin

ISBN: 9780451491954

Marlee thought she scored the man of her dreams only to be scorched by a bad breakup. But there's a new player on the horizon, and he's in a league of his own...Marlee Harper is the perfect girlfriend. She's definitely had enough practice by dating her NFL-star boyfriend for the...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Washington Black: A novel

Washington Black: A novel

Author: Esi Edugyan

ISBN: 9780525521426

From the author of the award-winning international best seller Half-Blood Blues comes a dazzling new novel, about a boy who rises from the ashes of slavery to become a free man of the world.Washington Black is an eleven-year-old field slave who knows no other life than the Barbados sugar plantation...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Woman Trapped in the Dark

The Woman Trapped in the Dark

Author: J D Mason

ISBN: 9781250052278

The propulsive third novel in a new contemporary trilogy about unforgettable love, scorching desire, and dangerous secrets.Abby Rhodes and Jordan Gatewood have fought a long battle to be together. People disparaged their relationship. Enemies tried to tear them apart. Now, Abby is looking to settle in to a life of...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Paper Gods: A Novel of Money, Race, and Politics

Paper Gods: A Novel of Money, Race, and Politics

Author: Goldie Taylor

ISBN: 9781250194442

The mayor of Atlanta and a washed-up reporter investigate a series of assassinations, and uncover a conspiracy that reaches into the heart of the city's political machine.Mayor Victoria Dobbs Overstreet is a Harvard-trained attorney and Spelman alum, married to a celebrated heart surgeon, mother to beautiful twin girls, and a...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Black God's Drums

The Black God's Drums

Author: P Djeli Clark

ISBN: 9781250294715

Rising SFF star P. Djèlí Clark brings an alternate New Orleans of orisha, airships, and adventure to life in his immersive debut novella The Black God's DrumsIn an alternate New Orleans caught in the tangle of the American Civil War, the wall-scaling girl named Creeper yearns to escape the streets...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Friday Black

Friday Black

Author: Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

ISBN: 9781328911247

"These stories are an excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny, yet classical in the way they take on stubborn human problems: the depravities of capitalism, love struggling to assert itself within heartless systems. The wildly talented Adjei-Brenyah has made these edgy tales immensely charming, via his resolute...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: A Stallion Dream

A Stallion Dream

Author: Deborah Fletcher Mello

ISBN: 9781335216823

Has this Stallion met his match ... In and out of the courtroom? Collin Stallion plans to give back to the community by volunteering to exonerate someone wrongfully convicted of crime. His partner in the high-profile case - powerhouse attorney London Jacobs - isn't impressed by the seductive bachelor. Until...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Winning Her Forever

Winning Her Forever

Author: Harmony Evans

ISBN: 9781335216854

He's the man she shouldn't trustBut can't resist ... Construction entrepreneur Trent Waterson has a passion for hard work, custom motorcycles ... and the one woman in Bay Point who tries to avoid him. Former dancer Sonya Young is stunned to learn that her childhood home is in danger of...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Sheriff of Wickham Falls

The Sheriff of Wickham Falls

Author: Rochelle Alers

ISBN: 9781335466013

You can search the world over ... But sometimes love is right next door.Deputy Sheriff Seth Collier is content to serve and protect the citizens of Wickham Falls ... until the sexy ex-marine meets his new next-door neighbor. Dr. Natalia Hawkins left the big-city ER for a small-town practice. And...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Couldn't Ask for More

Couldn't Ask for More

Author: Kianna Alexander

ISBN: 9781492670735

"A lush, beautifully written story about the indelible mark of first love. Intelligent, fresh, and utterly lovely." -- KRISTAN HIGGINS for Back to Your LoveFake engagements are a dangerous business.Bryan James's job is on thin ice unless he can secure a contract with a popular design house. He knows his...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Triple Threat

Triple Threat

Author: Camryn King

ISBN: 9781496702203

A tenacious reporter. A billionaire philanthropist. And all-access secrets that won't leave anyone safe fuel Camryn King's relentless new thriller . . . Mallory Knight knows all too well how perfect lives can be illusions. Her best friend, Leigh, seemed to have it all. But then she's found dead...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Remembrance

Remembrance

Author: MARY MONROE

ISBN: 9781496715821

In this moving, unforgettable novel from New York Times bestselling author Mary Monroe, a successful, happily married mother suddenly finds herself feeling far from joyful. But Christmas brings an unexpected chance to rediscover herself, and what happiness really means . . . For Beatrice Powell, the holidays are usually an...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Enticed by You

Enticed by You

Author: ELLE WRIGHT

ISBN: 9781496716026

In Wellspring, Michigan, the Wells family is known for their wealth, their taste - and their patriarch's unbridled greed. But now his three heirs are taking back what's rightfully theirs . . . With his father ailing and incapacitated, Parker Wells, Jr. has a bold new vision for the company...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Mostly Sunny

Mostly Sunny

Author: JAMIE POPE

ISBN: 9781496718259

When trauma shapes your life, how do you risk making a change - and finding love? As a child, Sunny Gibson was abandoned by her mentally-ill mother, who left no trace behind. Now a social worker, Sunny is dedicated to helping children find loving homes - though she's still haunted...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Flesh and Blood: A Novel

Flesh and Blood: A Novel

Author: ALLISON HOBBS

ISBN: 9781593096939

National bestselling author Allison Hobbs delivers a powerful novel about a father and son whose relationship is challenged after the son is suspected of crimes in his new neighborhood.Twelve years ago when Malik Copeland was a hopeless addict, he signed away parental rights to his ten-month-old son, Phoenix, and his...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Training School for Negro Girls

Training School for Negro Girls

Author: Camille Acker

ISBN: 9781936932375

"Acker navigates her characters' lives with humor, heart, and grace. I loved these stories." -- Lisa KoThis debut collection is a complicated love letter to Washington, DC, and to those who call it home: a TSA agent who's never flown, a girl braving new worlds to play piano, and a...

Check the Catalog

Give 3 Get 3

Get personal recommendations from our staff. We would love to suggest new authors and titles that you might like. Please give us a little information on what you’ve enjoyed recently and we will offer three personalized suggestions.

Get Personal Recommendations

More To Discover