Picture Books & Easy Readers

Accelerated Reader - Find books for a specific reading level.


Book Cover: How to Read a Book

How to Read a Book

Author: Kwame Alexander

ISBN: 0062307819

A stunning new picture book from Newbery Medalist Kwame Alexander and Caldecott Honoree Melissa Sweet! This New York Times bestselling duo has teamed up for the first time to bring you How to Read a Book, a poetic and beautiful journey about the experience of reading.Fin

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Save Your Friends!

Save Your Friends!

Author: Hyewon Kyung

ISBN: 0062683152

Shark is big.Shark is hungry.Shark is a bully.Shark eats everyoneand everything in the sea.Shark eats:1 little clownfish1 puffy pufferfish1 brave bitey fish1 baby seal1 clever crab4 inky octopuses<

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Night Is Yours

The Night Is Yours

Author: Abdul-Razak Zachariah

ISBN: 0525552715

From the New York Times bestselling illustrator of I Am Enough, this glowing, empowering picture book about a nighttime hide-and-seek game celebrates blackness and self-confidence.Little one, so calm and so happy, the darkness of the night is yours like th

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: I Am Not a Fish!

I Am Not a Fish!

Author: Peter Raymundo

ISBN: 0525554599

For fans of Ryan T. Higgins and Jory John comes a humorous and "splashy" story from a former Disney animator, about a jellyfish with an identity crisis who learns how to be himself with a little help from friends.Edgar is a jellyfish, but he doesn't look, act, or

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Sea Glass Summer

Sea Glass Summer

Author: Michelle Houts

ISBN: 0763684430

Author Michelle Houts and illustrator Bagram Ibatoulline explore the magic of one of the seaside's greatest wonders and the bonds that link us through time.One summer, a boy named Thomas visits his grandmother at her seaside cottage. She gives him a magnifying glass that o

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Hum and Swish

Hum and Swish

Author: Matt Myers

ISBN: 0823442861

Jamie's day at the beach turns into the perfect place for an artistic adventure.All Jamie wants is to spend some time alone at the beach and finish her art project in the sand. But everyone around keeps asking her pesky questions she doesn't know how to answer: what are yo...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Leila in Saffron

Leila in Saffron

Author: Rukhsanna Guidroz

ISBN: 1534425640

A colorful journey of self-discovery and identity, this sweet, vibrant picture book follows young Leila as she visits her grandmother's house for their weekly family dinner, and finds parts of herself and her heritage in the family, friends, and art around her.Sometimes

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Puppy Truck

Puppy Truck

Author: Brian Pinkney

ISBN: 1534426876

Find out what happens when a boy who wants a puppy gets a truck instead in this simple and sweet picture book from Caldecott Honor winner Brian Pinkney. Vroom ... beep ... bark! Carter wants a puppy, but he gets a truck instead. So he pets it, puts a leash a

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Big Shark, Little Shark Go to School

Big Shark, Little Shark Go to School

Author: Anna Membrino

ISBN: 1984893491

A silly school-themed sequel to the popular Step 1 Reader Big Shark, Little Shark!Everyone's favorite odd couple (of sharks) returns in this funny Step 1 book! And now it's time for school! Big Shark and Little Shark continue to be opposites in every way. Little

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Cece Loves Science and Adventure

Cece Loves Science and Adventure

Author: Kimberly Derting

ISBN: 9780062499622

Cece loves science and adventure!In this STEM-themed picture book, the second in a series, Cece and her Adventure Girls troop use science, technology, engineering, and math to solve problems and earn their camping pin.Illustrated by New York Times-bestseller Vashti Harrison, the Cece Loves Science books are perfect for fans of...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: A Curious Menagerie: Of Herds, Flocks, Leaps, Gaggles, Scurries, and More!

A Curious Menagerie: Of Herds, Flocks, Leaps, Gaggles, Scurries, and More!

Author: Carin Berger

ISBN: 9780062644572

From a flamboyance of flamingos to a mischief of mice, this gorgeous picture book introduces readers to sixty collective animal nouns in a fun and unusual way!Illustrated with show-stopping collage art by acclaimed author-illustrator Carin Berger, A Curious Menagerie is a delightfully engaging read-aloud sure to delight and expand vocabularies...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: See Me Play

See Me Play

Author: Paul Meisel

ISBN: 9780823438327

What fun! A playful pack of dogs chase a ball and find new friends! This Level C book is perfect for kindergarteners and rising first graders.I see a ball. The bird has the ball. The whale has the ball. The lion has the ball. Gulp! No more ball!This is the...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Horse and Buggy Paint It Out!

Horse and Buggy Paint It Out!

Author: Ethan Long

ISBN: 9780823442560

Geisel medalist Ethan Long's comical duo, Horse and his friend Buggy, get creative in a funny story about working together. Horse is all set to paint a mural his way, oblivious to Buggy's suggestions that a bit of planning might be a good idea. But as the Horse knocks over...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Galápagos Girl / Galapagueña

Galápagos Girl / Galapagueña

Author: Marsha Diane Arnold

ISBN: 9780892394135

Valentina was born on an island formed by fire, surrounded by blue-green sea. As a Galapagueña, Valentina spends her days observing the natural world around her. She greets sea lions splashing on the shore, scampers over lava rocks with Sally-lightfoot crabs, and swims with manta rays. But Valentina also understands...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Moon! Earth&#39;s Best Friend

Moon! Earth's Best Friend

Author: Stacy McAnulty

ISBN: 9781250199348

From writer Stacy McAnulty and illustrator Stevie Lewis, Moon! Earth's Best Friend is a light-hearted nonfiction picture book about the formation and history of the moon -- told from the perspective of the moon itself...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Look Again: Secrets of Animal Camouflage

Look Again: Secrets of Animal Camouflage

Author: Steve Jenkins

ISBN: 9781328850942

The award-winning team of Steve Jenkins and Robin Page introduce young readers to some of the stealthiest, most astonishingly camouflaged animals in the natural world and ask them to seek out these sneaky animals hiding in plain sight! Ideal for readers of the Over and Under books.Why do some animals...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Pigeon HAS to Go to School!

The Pigeon HAS to Go to School!

Author: Mo Willems

ISBN: 9781368046459

Why does the Pigeon have to go to school? He already knows everything! And what if he doesn't like it? What if the teacher doesn't like him? What if he learns TOO MUCH!?!Ask not for whom the school bell rings; it rings for the Pigeon!

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The King of Kindergarten

The King of Kindergarten

Author: Derrick Barnes

ISBN: 9781524740740

A confident little boy takes pride in his first day of kindergarten, by the Newbery Honor-winning author of Crown.The morning sun blares through your window like a million brass trumpets.It sits and shines behind your head--like a crown. Mommy says that today, you are going to be the King of...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: I Will Race You Through This Book!

I Will Race You Through This Book!

Author: Jonathan E. Fenske

ISBN: 9781524791964

See if you can beat Book-It Bunny in a reading race!In this story designed to engage early readers, charming characters combine with simple text, lively illustrations, and laugh-out-loud humor to help boost kids' confidence and create lifelong readers!This easy-to-read adventure breaks the fourth wall as Book-It Bunny challenges the reader...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Vroom!

Vroom!

Author: Barbara McClintock

ISBN: 9781626722170

Join a little girl as she zooms -- past fields and forests, up mountains, over rivers, through deserts, home again, and into bed in this playful picture book about the power of imagination, from award-winning author and artist Barbara McClintock.

Check the Catalog

Book Picks for You

Tell us what you've enjoyed reading, watching or listening to, and our librarians will give you personalized recommendations. No algorithms, cookies or data mining - just real experts in your community sharing their love of great books, music and movies with you!

Get Recommendations

More To Discover