Weekly Staff Picks

What is the library staff most excited to get home and read? We recommend these latest releases!


Book Cover: Consent: A Memoir of Unwanted Attention

Consent: A Memoir of Unwanted Attention

Author: Donna Freitas

ISBN: 9780316450522

A powerful memoir about a young woman's toxic relationship with her mentor, an acclaimed professor, whose dark, stalking obsession altered her future forever.Donna Freitas has lived two lives. In one life, she is a well-published author and respected scholar who has traveled around the country speaking about Title IX, consent...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: All the Wrong Moves: A Memoir About Chess, Love, and Ruining Everything

All the Wrong Moves: A Memoir About Chess, Love, and Ruining Everything

Author: Sasha Chapin

ISBN: 9780385545174

"A smart, funny, and slyly profound book about the dark ecstasies of obsessive love. Sasha Chapin is a gentlemanly Gonzo, a dirty Bond, and he writes like a dream."--Claudia Dey, author of HeartbreakerSasha Chapin is a victim of chess. Like countless amateurs before him--Albert Einstein, Humphrey Bogart, Marcel Duchamp--the game...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Last Ocean: A Journey Through Memory and Forgetting

The Last Ocean: A Journey Through Memory and Forgetting

Author: Nicci Gerrard

ISBN: 9780525521969

From the award-winning journalist and author, a lyrical, raw and humane investigation of dementia that explores both the journeys of the people who live with the condition and those of their loved onesAfter a diagnosis of dementia, Nicci Gerrard's father, John, continued to live life on his own terms, alongside...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Last Good Guy

The Last Good Guy

Author: T. Jefferson Parker

ISBN: 9780525537649

In this electrifying new thriller from three-time Edgar Award winner and New York Times bestseller T. Jefferson Parker, Private Investigator Roland Ford hunts for a missing teenager and uncovers a dark conspiracy in his most personal case yet.When hired by a beautiful and enigmatic woman to find her missing younger...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Retreat

The Retreat

Author: Sherri Smith

ISBN: 9780765386731

Sherri Smith illuminates the dark side of the self-care and wellness industry in a thrilling ride of revenge perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty's Nine Perfect Strangers. The Retreat is a twisting, bone-chilling suspense that asks: how well do you really know your friends? Four women.Four secrets.A weekend that will...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Things You Save in a Fire

Things You Save in a Fire

Author:

ISBN: 9781250047328

From the New York Times bestselling author of How to Walk Away comes a stunning new novel about courage, hope, and learning to love against all odds.Cassie Hanwell was born for emergencies. As one of the only female firefighters in her Texas firehouse, she's seen her fair share of them...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Chase Darkness with Me: How One True-Crime Writer Started Solving Murders

Chase Darkness with Me: How One True-Crime Writer Started Solving Murders

Author: Billy Jensen

ISBN: 9781492685852

A New York Times Bestseller. Audiobook available now. Pre-order the hardcover version, available August 13, 2019.Have you ever wanted to solve a murder? Gather the clues the police overlooked? Put together the pieces? Identify the suspect?Journalist Billy Jensen spent fifteen years investigating unsolved murders, fighting for the families of victims...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Unbreak Me

Unbreak Me

Author: Michelle Hazen

ISBN: 9781984803290

What could two troubled souls from different walks of life have in common? Maybe everything. Andra Lawler lives isolated at her family's horse ranch, imprisoned by the memories of an assault in college. When she needs help training her foals, she hires a Haitian-Creole cowboy from New Orleans with a...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Swallows: A Novel

The Swallows: A Novel

Author: Lisa Lutz

ISBN: 9781984818232

A new teacher at a New England prep school ignites a gender war--with deadly consequences--in a provocative novel from the bestselling author of The Passenger and the Spellman Files series.What do you love? What do you hate? What do you want? It starts with this simple writing prompt from Alex...

Check the Catalog