Weekly Staff Picks

What is the library staff most excited to get home and read? We recommend these latest releases!


Book Cover: Your House Will Pay: A Novel

Your House Will Pay: A Novel

Author: Steph Cha

ISBN: 9780062868855

"With Your House Will Pay, Steph Cha has taken a dark moment in Los Angeles's violent history and cracked it wide open, creating a prism of understanding - of the pull of generational violence and its enduring devastation, but also of the power of human grace against all odds. It's...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Curious Toys

Curious Toys

Author: Elizabeth Hand

ISBN: 9780316485883

An intrepid young woman stalks a murderer through turn-of-the-century Chicago in "this rich, spooky, and atmospheric thriller that will appeal to fans of Henry Darger and Erik Larson alike." (Sarah McCarry) In the sweltering summer of 1915, Pin, the fourteen-year-old daughter of a carnival fortune-teller, dresses as a boy and...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Girl: A Novel

Girl: A Novel

Author: Edna O'Brien

ISBN: 9780374162559

Girl, Edna O'Brien's hotly anticipated new novel, envisages the lives of the Boko Haram girls in a masterpiece of violence and tenderness. I was a girl once, but not anymore.So begins Girl, Edna O'Brien's harrowing portrayal of the young women abducted by Boko Haram. Set in the deep countryside of...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Body: A Guide for Occupants

The Body: A Guide for Occupants

Author: Bill Bryson

ISBN: 9780385539302

Bill Bryson, bestselling author of A Short History of Nearly Everything, takes us on a head-to-toe tour of the marvel that is the human body. As compulsively readable as it is comprehensive, this is Bryson at his very best, a must-read owner's manual for everybody.Bill Bryson once again proves himself...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Art of Theft

The Art of Theft

Author: Sherry Thomas

ISBN: 9780451492470

Charlotte Holmes, Lady Sherlock, is back solving new cases in the Victorian-set mystery series from the USA Today bestselling author of The Hollow of Fear.As "Sherlock Holmes, consulting detective," Charlotte Holmes has solved murders and found missing individuals. But she has never stolen a priceless artwork - or rather, made...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Life Undercover: Coming of Age in the CIA

Life Undercover: Coming of Age in the CIA

Author: Amaryllis Fox

ISBN: 9780525654971

Amaryllis Fox's riveting memoir tells the story of her ten years in the most elite clandestine ops unit of the CIA, hunting the world's most dangerous terrorists in sixteen countries while marrying and giving birth to a daughterAmaryllis Fox was in her last year as an undergraduate at Oxford studying...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Less People Know About Us: A Mystery of Betrayal, Family Secrets, and Stolen Identity

The Less People Know About Us: A Mystery of Betrayal, Family Secrets, and Stolen Identity

Author: Axton Betz-Hamilton

ISBN: 9781538730287

In this powerful true crime memoir, an award-winning identity theft expert tells the shocking story of the duplicity and betrayal that inspired her career and nearly destroyed her family.Axton Betz-Hamilton grew up in small-town Indiana in the early '90s. When she was 11 years old, her parents both had their...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The First Cell: And the Human Costs of Pursuing Cancer to the Last

The First Cell: And the Human Costs of Pursuing Cancer to the Last

Author: Azra Raza

ISBN: 9781541699526

A world-class oncologist's devastating and deeply personal examination of cancerWe have lost the war on cancer. We spend $150 billion each year treating it, yet -- a few innovations notwithstanding -- a patient with cancer is as likely to die of it as one was fifty years ago. Most new...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Good Man Gone Bad: An Aaron Gunner Mystery

Good Man Gone Bad: An Aaron Gunner Mystery

Author: Prospect Park Books

ISBN: 9781945551666

Check the Catalog