Staff picks of the Week

What is the library staff most excited to get home and read? We recommend these latest releases! 


Book Cover: Sweet Little Lies: A Novel

Sweet Little Lies: A Novel

Author: CAZ FREAR

ISBN: 9780062823199

In this gripping debut procedural, a young London policewoman must probe dark secrets buried deep in her own family's past to solve a murder and a long-ago disappearance.Your father is a liar. But is he a killer? Even liars tell the truth . . . sometimes.Twenty-six-year-old Cat Kinsella overcame a...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Hard Stuff: Dope, Crime, the MC5, and My Life of Impossibilities

The Hard Stuff: Dope, Crime, the MC5, and My Life of Impossibilities

Author: WAYNE KRAMER

ISBN: 9780306921544

Memoir by Wayne Kramer, legendary guitarist and cofounder of quintessential Detroit proto-punk legends The MC5 In January 1969, before the world heard a note of their music, The MC5 was on the cover of Rolling Stone. The missing link between free jazz and punk rock, they were raw, primal, and...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Shakespeare Requirement: A Novel

The Shakespeare Requirement: A Novel

Author: Julie Schumacher

ISBN: 9780385542340

The slings and arrows of outrageous fortune keep hitting beleaguered English professor Jason Fitger right between the eyes in this hilarious and eagerly awaited sequel to the cult classic of anhedonic academe, the Thurber Prize-winning Dear Committee Members. Once more into the breach...Now is the fall of his discontent, as...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Up From Freedom

Up From Freedom

Author: WAYNE GRADY

ISBN: 9780385685115

For readers of Colson Whitehead, James McBride, Yaa Gyasi and Lawrence Hill, Up From Freedom is a powerful and emotional novel about the dangers that arise when we stay silent in the face of prejudice or are complicit in its development.As a young man, Virgil Moody vowed he would never...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: A Girl's Guide to Missiles: Growing Up in America's Secret Desert

A Girl's Guide to Missiles: Growing Up in America's Secret Desert

Author: Karen Piper

ISBN: 9780399564543

A poignant, surreal, and fearlessly honest look at growing up on one of the most secretive weapons installations on earth, by a young woman who came of age with missilesThe China Lake missile range is located in a huge stretch of the Mojave Desert, about the size of the state...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Line That Held Us

The Line That Held Us

Author: David Joy

ISBN: 9780399574221

From critically acclaimed author David Joy comes a remarkable novel about the cover-up of an accidental death, and the dark consequences that reverberate through the lives of four people who will never be the same again.When Darl Moody went hunting after a monster buck he's chased for years, he never...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Flights

Flights

Author: Olga Tokarczuk

ISBN: 9780525534198

Longlisted for the Man Booker International PrizeA visionary work of fiction with "echoes of Sebald [and] Kundera . . . [There's] no better travel companion in these turbulent, fanatical times" (The Guardian) .A seventeenth-century Dutch anatomist discovers the Achilles tendon by dissecting his own amputated leg. Chopin's heart is carried...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Founding Martyr: The Life and Death of Dr. Joseph Warren, the American Revolution's Lost Hero

Founding Martyr: The Life and Death of Dr. Joseph Warren, the American Revolution's Lost Hero

Author: Christian Di Spigna

ISBN: 9780553419320

A rich and illuminating biography of America's forgotten Founding Father, the patriot physician and major general who fomented rebellion and died heroically at the battle of Bunker Hill on the brink of revolutionLittle has been known of one of the most important figures in early American history, Dr. Joseph Warren...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Cut Out Girl: A Story of War and Family, Lost and Found

The Cut Out Girl: A Story of War and Family, Lost and Found

Author: Bart Van Es

ISBN: 9780735222243

The extraordinary true story of a young Jewish girl in Holland under Nazi occupation who finds refuge in the homes of an underground network of foster families, one of them the author's grandparents Bart van Es left Holland for England many years ago, but one story from his Dutch childhood...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Imperfect Courage: Live a Life of Purpose by Leaving Comfort and Going Scared

Imperfect Courage: Live a Life of Purpose by Leaving Comfort and Going Scared

Author: Jessica Honegger

ISBN: 9780735291294

The founder of the popular fair trade jewelry brand Noonday Collection shares her story of starting the rapid-growing business that impacts over 4,400 artisans in vulnerable communities across the globe and invites readers on a journey of transformation, challenging them to trade their comfort zones for a life of impact...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Let Me Be Like Water

Let Me Be Like Water

Author: S K PERRY

ISBN: 9781612197265

'Intimate, ruthless, tender: this book is like medicine for the soul.' Nina George, author of The Little Paris BookshopA beautifully poignant and poetic debut about love, loss, friendship, and ultimately, starting over.Twenty-something Holly has moved to Brighton to escape. But now that she's here, sitting on a bench, listening to...

Check the Catalog

Give 3 Get 3

Get personal recommendations from our staff. We would love to suggest new authors and titles that you might like. Please give us a little information on what you’ve enjoyed recently and we will offer three personalized suggestions.

Get Personal Recommendations

More To Discover