Staff picks of the Week

What is the library staff most excited to get home and read? We recommend these latest releases! 


Book Cover: The Believer: A Novel

The Believer: A Novel

Author: Joakim Zander

ISBN: 9780062337252

An intricately plotted and brilliantly conceived stand-alone sequel to the international bestseller The Swimmer that turns the hottest political topics of our times into a complex, resonant thriller in the vein of John LeCarré.Yasmine Ajam has fled her past in the rough Stockholm borough Bergort, reinventing herself as a trendspotter...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Long Game: The Greatness of the Obama Presidency

The Long Game: The Greatness of the Obama Presidency

Author: Jonathan Chait

ISBN: 9780062426970

An unassailable case that, in the eyes of history, Barack Obama will be viewed as one of America's best and most accomplished presidents. Over the course of eight years, Barack Obama amassed an array of historic achievements. His administration saved the American economy from collapse, expanded health insurance to tens...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Fire by Night: A Novel

The Fire by Night: A Novel

Author: Teresa Messineo

ISBN: 9780062459107

A powerful and evocative debut novel about two American military nurses during World War II that illuminates the unsung heroism of women who risked their lives in the fight - a riveting saga of friendship, valor, sacrifice, and survival combining the grit and selflessness of Band of Brothers with the...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Never Never

Never Never

Author: James Patterson

ISBN: 9780316433174

Never...assume you know someone. Harry Blue is the top Sex Crimes investigator in her department. She's a seasoned pro who's seen it all. But even she didn't see this coming: her own brother arrested for the grisly murders of three beautiful young women. Never...accept a reassignment to the middle of...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Hey Harry, Hey Matilda: A Novel

Hey Harry, Hey Matilda: A Novel

Author: Rachel Hulin

ISBN: 9780385541671

Hey Harry, Hey Matilda is the story - told entirely in hilarious emails - of fraternal twins Harry and Matilda Goodman as they fumble into adulthood, telling lies and keeping secrets, and finally confronting their complicated twinship. Matilda Goodman is an underemployed wedding photographer grappling with her failure to live...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Homesick for Another World: Stories

Homesick for Another World: Stories

Author: Ottessa Moshfegh

ISBN: 9780399562884

An electrifying first collection from one of the most exciting short story writers of our time "What distinguishes Ottessa Moshfegh's writing is that unnamable quality that makes a new writer's voice, against all odds and the deadening surround of lyrical postures, sound unique." - Jeffrey Eugenides, in judges' citation for...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Feversong: A Fever Novel

Feversong: A Fever Novel

Author: Karen Marie Moning

ISBN: 9780425284353

MacKayla Lane and Jericho Barrons return in the epic conclusion to the pulse-pounding Fever series, where a world thrown into chaos grows more treacherous at every turn.As Mac, Barrons, Ryodan, and Jada struggle to restore control, enemies become allies, right and wrong cease to exist, and the lines between life...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: How America Lost Its Secrets: Edward Snowden, the Man and the Theft

How America Lost Its Secrets: Edward Snowden, the Man and the Theft

Author: Edward Jay Epst

ISBN: 9780451494566

A groundbreaking exposé that convincingly challenges the popular image of Edward Snowden as hacker turned avenging angel, while revealing how vulnerable our national security systems have become--as exciting as any political thriller, and far more important. After details of American government surveillance were published in 2013, Edward Snowden, formerly a...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Rising: A Novel

The Rising: A Novel

Author: Heather Graham

ISBN: 9780765337917

From acclaimed thriller-suspense novelists Heather Graham and Jon Land comes a story of action, mystery, and the endurance of young love in The Rising. Twenty-four hours. That's all it takes for the lives of two young people to be changed forever. Alex Chin has the world on a plate. A...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Human Acts: A Novel

Human Acts: A Novel

Author: Han Kang

ISBN: 9781101906729

From the internationally bestselling author of THE VEGETARIAN, a "rare and astonishing" (The Observer) portrait of political unrest and the universal struggle for justice In the midst of a violent student uprising in South Korea, a young boy named Dong-ho is shockingly killed. The story of this tragic episode unfolds...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Nowhere Man

The Nowhere Man

Author: Gregg Hurwitz

ISBN: 9781250067852

Spoken about only in whispers, the Nowhere Man can only be reached by the truly desperate, he can -- He will do anything to save them. Evan Smoak is the Nowhere Man. Taken from a group home at twelve, Evan was raised and trained as part of the Orphan Program...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk

Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk

Author: Kathleen Rooney

ISBN: 9781250113320

"Extraordinary ... Hilarious ... Elegantly written, Rooney creates a glorious paean to a distant literary life and time -- and an unabashed celebration of human connections that bridge past and future. -- Publishers Weekly (starred and boxed) Fall 2016 Library Journal Editors' Pick"In my reckless and undiscouraged youth," Lillian Boxfish...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America

Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America

Author: ANONYMOUS.

ISBN: 9781250135995

In the wake of yet another set of police killings of black men, Michael Eric Dyson wrote a tell-it-straight, no holds barred piece for the NYT on Sunday July 7: "Death in Black and White" (It was updated within a day to acknowledge the killing of police officers in Dallas)...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Man on the Run

Man on the Run

Author: Carl Weber

ISBN: 9781455505272

New York Times bestselling author Carl Weber delivers a riveting, action-packed drama full of the twists and turns for which he's become known.It was the night before his wedding, fifteen years ago, that the nightmare began for Jay Crawford--locked up for a crime he never committed. Now, he's escaped prison...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Life and Times of Persimmon Wilson: A Novel

The Life and Times of Persimmon Wilson: A Novel

Author: Nancy Peacock

ISBN: 9781501116353

For fans of Cold Mountain and The Invention of Wings comes "a tour de force of historical fiction" (Henry Wiencek, author of Master of the Mountain) that follows the epic journey of a slave-turned-Comanche warrior who travels from the brutality of a New Orleans sugar cane plantation to the indomitable...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Maximum Harm: The Tsarnaev Brothers, the FBI, and the Road to the Marathon Bombing

Maximum Harm: The Tsarnaev Brothers, the FBI, and the Road to the Marathon Bombing

Author: MICHELE R MCPHEE

ISBN: 9781611688498

In Maximum Harm, veteran investigative journalist Michele R. McPhee unravels the complex story behind the public facts of the Boston Marathon bombing. She examines the bombers' roots in Dagestan and Chechnya, their struggle to assimilate in America, and their growing hatred of the United States - a deepening antagonism that...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: History Is All You Left Me

History Is All You Left Me

Author: Adam Silvera

ISBN: 9781616956929

OCD-afflicted Griffin has just lost his first love, Theo, in a drowning accident. In an attempt to hold onto every piece of the past, he forges a friendship with Theo's last boyfriend, Jackson. When Jackson begins to exhibit signs of guilt, Griffin suspects he's hiding something, and will stop at...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: My Life, My Love, My Legacy

My Life, My Love, My Legacy

Author: Coretta Scott King

ISBN: 9781627795982

The life story of Coretta Scott King -- wife of Martin Luther King Jr., founder of the Martin Luther King Jr. Center for Nonviolent Social Change (The King Center) , and singular twentieth-century American civil and human rights activist -- as told fully for the first time, toward the end...

Check the Catalog

Give 3 Get 3

Get personal recommendations from our staff. We would love to suggest new authors and titles that you might like. Please give us a little information on what you’ve enjoyed recently and we will offer three personalized suggestions.

Get Personal Recommendations

More To Discover