Staff picks of the Week

What is the library staff most excited to get home and read? We recommend these latest releases! 


Book Cover: A Distant View of Everything: An Isabel Dalhousie Novel (11)

A Distant View of Everything: An Isabel Dalhousie Novel (11)

Author: ALEXANDER MCCALL SMITH

ISBN: 9780307908940

In this latest installment of Alexander McCall Smith's ever-delightful and perennially best-selling series, amateur sleuth and philosopher Isabel Dalhousie is called upon to help when a matchmaker begins to question her latest match.A new baby brings an abundance of joy to Isabel Dalhousie and her husband, Jamie - but Isabel's...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Putin: His Downfall and Russia's Coming Crash

Putin: His Downfall and Russia's Coming Crash

Author: Richard Lourie

ISBN: 9780312538088

An electrifying and timely book, by leading Russian expert Richard Lourie, that explores Putin's failures and whether Trump's election gives Putin extraordinarily dangerous opportunities in our mad new world.For reasons that are made clear in this book, Putin's Russia will collapse just as Imperial Russia did in 1917 and as...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Late Show

The Late Show

Author: Michael Connelly

ISBN: 9780316225984

"Renée Ballard works the night shift in Hollywood, beginning many investigations but finishing none as each morning she turns her cases over to day shift detectives. A once up-and-coming detective, she's been given this beat as punishment after filing a sexual harassment complaint against a supervisor. But one night she...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Less: A Novel

Less: A Novel

Author: ANDREW SEAN GREER

ISBN: 9780316316125

Arthur Less, a mid-list novelist, is approaching his 50th birthday, and he needs to grow up. But first he needs to get out: Arthur's much younger, exceedingly beautiful ex-boyfriend is getting married, and the last thing Arthur wants to do is attend the wedding. So he accepts every half-baked literary...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Captain's Daughter: A Novel

The Captain's Daughter: A Novel

Author: Meg Mitchell Moore

ISBN: 9780385541251

For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have beenGrowing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed lobsterman, Eliza Barnes could...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Epiphany Machine

The Epiphany Machine

Author: David Burr Gerrard

ISBN: 9780399575433

Everyone else knows the truth about you, now you can know it, too. That's the slogan. The product: a junky contraption that tattoos personalized revelations on its users' forearms. It's an old con, playing on the fear that we are obvious to everybody except ourselves. This particular one's been circulating...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Fallen

The Fallen

Author: ACE ATKINS

ISBN: 9780399576713

A classic southern tale of backroom deals, tainted honor, dysfunctional family, high-stakes greed - and everyday heroism - from the New York Times-bestselling author. Mississippi sheriff Quinn Colson had to admit he admired the bank robbers. A new bank was hit almost every week, and the robbers rushed in and...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Beautiful Animals: A Novel

Beautiful Animals: A Novel

Author: Lawrence Osborne

ISBN: 9780553447378

A new novel by the author of THE FORGIVEN, about a Mediterranean vacation that takes a terrifying turn On a hike during a white-hot summer break on the Greek island of Hydra, Naomi and Samantha make a startling discovery: a man named Faoud, sleeping heavily, exposed to the elements, but...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency

Devil's Bargain: Steve Bannon, Donald Trump, and the Storming of the Presidency

Author: ANONYMOUS.

ISBN: 9780735225022

From the reporter who was there at the very beginning comes the revealing inside story of the partnership between Steve Bannon and Donald Trump - the key to understanding the rise of the alt-right, the fall of Hillary Clinton, and the hidden forces that drove the greatest upset in American...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Arabella and the Battle of Venus

Arabella and the Battle of Venus

Author: DAVID D LEVINE

ISBN: 9780765382825

The swashbuckling Arabella Ashby is back for brand new adventure in the ongoing story of her life among the stars. Arabella's wedding plans to marry Captain Singh of the Honorable Mars Trading Company are interrupted when her fiancé is captured by the French and sent to a prisoner-of-war camp on...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Arrowood: A Novel

Arrowood: A Novel

Author: Mick Finlay

ISBN: 9780778330943

1895 London is scared. A killer haunts the city's streets; the poor are hungry; crime bosses are taking control; the police force is stretched to the breaking point. The rich turn to Sherlock Holmes, but the celebrated private detective rarely visits the densely populated streets of South London, where the...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Women Who Flew for Hitler: A True Story of Soaring Ambition and Searing Rivalry

The Women Who Flew for Hitler: A True Story of Soaring Ambition and Searing Rivalry

Author: CLARE MULLEY

ISBN: 9781250063670

Despite Hitler's dictates on women's place being in the home, two fiercely defiant female pilots were awarded the Iron Cross during the Second World War. Other than this unique distinction and a passion for flying that bordered on addiction, these women could not have been less alike. One was Aryan...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Look Behind You

Look Behind You

Author: IRIS JOHANSEN

ISBN: 9781250075987

A serial killer is on the loose in San Diego, and he has a most unusual M.O.: With each kill, he leaves behind objects with unclear meanings. Most of the recent killings are centered near Kendra Michaels' home and office, so it comes as no great surprise when the FBI...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Breakdown: A Novel

The Breakdown: A Novel

Author: B A PARIS

ISBN: 9781250122469

Named One of the Most Anticipated Thriller Novels Of 2017 by Bustle!THE NEW CHILLING, PROPULSIVE NOVEL FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLING BEHIND CLOSED DOORS.If you can't trust yourself, who can you trust?Cass is having a hard time since the night she saw...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Blame

Blame

Author: Jeff Abbott

ISBN: 9781455558438

From New York Times bestselling author Jeff AbbottBLAMEThe crash that killed himTwo years ago, Jane Norton crashed her car on a lonely road, killing her friend David and leaving her with amnesia. At first, everyone was sympathetic. Then they found Jane's note: I wish we were dead together.A girl to...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Library of Light and Shadow: A Novel

The Library of Light and Shadow: A Novel

Author: M J Rose

ISBN: 9781476778129

In this riveting and richly drawn novel from "one of the master storytellers of historical fiction" (New York Times bestselling author Beatriz Williams) , a talented young artist flees New York for Paris after one of her scandalous drawings reveals a dark secret - and triggers a terrible tragedy.In the...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Strays: A Lost Cat, a Drifter, and Their Journey Across America

Strays: A Lost Cat, a Drifter, and Their Journey Across America

Author: BRITT COLLINS

ISBN: 9781501122590

For fans of A Street Cat Named Bob and Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World, Strays is a compelling true story of a man who rescues a stray, injured cat and how they save each other.Homeless, alcoholic, and depressed, Michael King lives in a UPS loading bay...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Hook's Tale: Being the Account of an Unjustly Villainized Pirate Written by Himself

Hook's Tale: Being the Account of an Unjustly Villainized Pirate Written by Himself

Author: JOHN PIELMEIER

ISBN: 9781501161056

A rollicking debut novel from award-winning playwright and screenwriter John Pielmeier reimagines the childhood of the much maligned Captain Hook: his quest for buried treasure, his friendship with Peter Pan, and the story behind the swashbuckling world of Neverland.Long defamed as a vicious pirate, Captain James Cook (a.k.a Hook) was...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Body in the Clouds: A Novel

The Body in the Clouds: A Novel

Author: Ashley Hay

ISBN: 9781501165115

From the acclaimed author of the "exquisitely written and deeply felt" (Geraldine Brooks, author of The Secret Chord) novel The Railwayman's Wife comes a magical and gorgeously wrought tale of an astonishing event that connects three people across three hundred years.Imagine you looked up at just the right moment and...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Stars in Our Eyes: The Famous, the Infamous, and Why We Care Way Too Much About Them

The Stars in Our Eyes: The Famous, the Infamous, and Why We Care Way Too Much About Them

Author: JULIE KLAM

ISBN: 9781594631368

From bestselling author Julie Klam comes a lively and engaging exploration of celebrity: why celebrities fascinate us, what it means to be famous today, and why celebrities are so important. "When I was young I was convinced celebrities could save me," Julie Klam admits in The Stars in Our Eyes...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Pretend We Are Lovely: A Novel

Pretend We Are Lovely: A Novel

Author: Noley Reid

ISBN: 9781941040669

An absorbing southern saga of family, hunger, and the potentially destructive power of food Consuming and big-hearted, Noley Reid's Pretend We Are Lovely details a summer in the life of the Sobel family in 1980s Blacksburg, Virginia, seven years after the tragic and suspicious death of a son and sibling...

Check the Catalog

Give 3 Get 3

Get personal recommendations from our staff. We would love to suggest new authors and titles that you might like. Please give us a little information on what you’ve enjoyed recently and we will offer three personalized suggestions.

Get Personal Recommendations

More To Discover