Steinem Sisters Collection

A sample of works in the Steinem Sisters Collection, which includes more than 400 materials.


Book Cover: The Women's Suffrage Movement

The Women's Suffrage Movement

Author: Sally Roesch Wagner

ISBN: 9780143132431

An intersectional anthology of works by the known and unknown women that shaped and established the suffrage movement, in time for the 2020 centennial of women's right to vote, with a foreword by Gloria SteinemComprised of historical texts spanning two centuries, The Women's Suffrage Movement is a comprehensive and singular...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Source of Self-Regard: Selected Essays, Speeches, and Meditations

The Source of Self-Regard: Selected Essays, Speeches, and Meditations

Author: Toni Morrison

ISBN: 9780525521037

Arguably the most celebrated and revered writer of our time now gives us a new nonfiction collection--a rich gathering of her essays, speeches, and meditations on society, culture, and art, spanning four decades.The Source of Self-Regard is brimming with all the elegance of mind and style, the literary prowess and...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Women Warriors: An Unexpected History

Women Warriors: An Unexpected History

Author: Pamela D. Toler

ISBN: 9780807064320

Who says women don't go to war? From Vikings and African queens to cross-dressing military doctors and WWII Russian fighter pilots, these are the stories of women for whom battle was not a metaphor.The woman warrior is always cast as an anomaly--Joan of Arc, not GI Jane. But women, it...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Lady from the Black Lagoon: Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Milicent Patrick

The Lady from the Black Lagoon: Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Milicent Patrick

Author: Mallory O'Meara

ISBN: 9781335937803

A Tor.com Most Anticipated Book of 2019A PureWow "Book We Can't Wait to Read in 2019"A Bustle Nonfiction Book Coming Out In 2019 To Start Getting Excited AboutThe Lady from the Black Lagoon uncovers the life and work of Milicent Patrick - one of Disney's first female animators and the...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Disrupt-Her: A Manifesto for the Modern Woman

Disrupt-Her: A Manifesto for the Modern Woman

Author: Miki Agrawal

ISBN: 9781401955564

From the co-founder of THINX and hellotushy.com, start-ups collectively valued at more than $150 million, comes DISRUPT-HER, a rallying cry for women to radically question the status quo.Miki Agrawal has faced patriarchal pushback, fought girl-on-girl hate, ridden the roller coaster of building businesses as a female CEO, and even overcome...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Invisible Women: Data Bias in a World Designed for Men

Invisible Women: Data Bias in a World Designed for Men

Author: Caroline Criado Perez

ISBN: 9781419729072

Data is fundamental to the modern world. From economic development, to healthcare, to education and public policy, we rely on numbers to allocate resources and make crucial decisions. But because so much data fails to take into account gender, because it treats men as the default and women as atypical...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Woman of Color

Woman of Color

Author: LaTonya Yvette

ISBN: 9781419732942

A powerful and inspired collection of essays and real-world advice on style, beauty, and motherhood from the popular blogger LaTonya Yvette LaTonya Yvette, the blogger and stylist behind the eponymous site, is unapologetically candid about life's trials, including motherhood, love, death, and racism. Her first book, Woman of Color, is...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Future is Feminist: Radical, Funny, and Inspiring Writing by Women

The Future is Feminist: Radical, Funny, and Inspiring Writing by Women

Author: Jessica Valenti

ISBN: 9781452168333

A star-studded roster of iconic women write powerfully about what it means to be a feminist yesterday, today, and tomorrow. These poets, essayists, activists, actors, and professors address topics ranging from workplace harassment to resting bitch face. The results are by turns refreshing, provocative, moving, and hilarious. A diverse chorus...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: The Feminism Book: Big Ideas Simply Explained

The Feminism Book: Big Ideas Simply Explained

Author: DK

ISBN: 9781465479563

Discover more than 85 of the most important ideas, movements, and events that have defined feminism and feminist thought throughout history with this original, graphic-led book.Using the Big Ideas series' trademark combination of authoritative, accessible text and bold graphics, this book traces feminism and the feminist movement from its origins...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Mr. President, How Long Must We Wait?: Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the Fight for the Right to Vote

Mr. President, How Long Must We Wait?: Alice Paul, Woodrow Wilson, and the Fight for the Right to Vote

Author: Tina Cassidy

ISBN: 9781501177767

An eye-opening, inspiring, and timely account of the complex relationship between notable suffragist Alice Paul and President Woodrow Wilson in her fight for women's equality. Woodrow Wilson lands in Washington, DC in March of 1913, a day before he is set to take the presidential oath of office. Expecting a...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: We Live for the We: The Political Power of Black Motherhood

We Live for the We: The Political Power of Black Motherhood

Author: Dani McClain

ISBN: 9781568588544

A warm, wise, and urgent guide to parenting in uncertain times, from a longtime reporter on race, reproductive health, and politicsIn We Live for the We, first-time mother Dani McClain sets out to understand how to raise her daughter in what she, as a black woman, knows to be an...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape

What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape

Author: Sohaila Abdulali

ISBN: 9781620974735

"What We Talk About When We Talk About Rape is brilliant, frank, empowering, and urgently necessary. Sohaila Abdulali has created a powerful tool for examining rape culture and language on the individual, societal, and global level that everyone can benefit from reading." - Jill SolowayIn the tradition of Rebecca Solnit...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland

A Bound Woman Is a Dangerous Thing: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland

Author: DaMaris Hill

ISBN: 9781635572612

A Publishers Weekly Top 10 History Title for the seasonA revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine's Citizen, DaMaris Hill's searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration."It is costly to stay free and appear / sane."From Harriet Tubman to Assata Shakur, Ida...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: Last Days at Hot Slit: The Radical Feminism of Andrea Dworkin

Last Days at Hot Slit: The Radical Feminism of Andrea Dworkin

Author: Andrea Dworkin

ISBN: 9781635900804

Selections from the work of radical feminist author Andrea Dworkin, famous for her antipornography stance and role in the feminist sex wars of the 1980s.Radical feminist author Andrea Dworkin was a caricature of misandrist extremism in the popular imagination and a polarizing figure within the women's movement, infamous for her...

Check the Catalog



Book Cover: #MeToo: Women Speak Out Against Sexual Assault

#MeToo: Women Speak Out Against Sexual Assault

Author: New York Times Company

ISBN: 9781642820027

It started with an article and grew into a movement. #MeToo was born in the wake of a Pulitzer-prize winning New York Times investigative report on producer Harvey Weinstein's habitual sexual harassment of young women. The hashtag empowered women around the world to share their stories of sexual assault and...

Check the Catalog