Biography & History


Becoming Duchess Goldblatt

Author: Anonymous

ISBN: 9780358216773

Part memoir and part joyful romp through the fields of imagination, the story behind a beloved pseudonymous Twitter account reveals how a writer deep in grief rebuilt a life worth living.

Check the Catalog



Putin's People: How the KGB Took Back Russia and Then Took On the West

Author: Catherine Belton

ISBN: 9780374238711

The hacking of American elections. The sponsorship of extremist politics in Europe. War in Ukraine. In recent years, Vladimir Putin's Russia has waged a concerted campaign to expand its influence and undermine Western institutions. But how and why did all this come about, and who has orchestrated it?In Putin's People...

Check the Catalog



Twilight of Democracy: The Seductive Lure of Authoritarianism

Author: Anne Applebaum

ISBN: 9780385545808

A Pulitzer Prize-winning historian and journalist explains, with electrifying clarity, why some of her contemporaries have abandoned liberal democratic ideals in favor of strongman cults, nationalist movements, or one-party states.Across the world today, from the U.S. to Europe and beyond, liberal democracy is under siege while different forms of authoritarianism...

Check the Catalog



Bright Precious Thing: A Memoir

Author: Gail Caldwell

ISBN: 9780525510055

From the New York Times bestselling author of Let's Take the Long Way Home comes a moving memoir about how the women's movement revolutionized and saved her life, from the 1960s to the #MeToo era. In a voice as candid as it is evocative, Gail Caldwell traces a path from...

Check the Catalog



Quitter: A Memoir of Drinking, Relapse, and Recovery

Author: Erica C. Barnett

ISBN: 9780525522324

"Emotionally devastating and self-aware, this cautionary tale about substance abuse is a worthy heir to Cat Marnell's How to Murder Your Life." --Publishers Weekly (starred review) A startlingly frank memoir of one woman's struggles with alcoholism and recovery, with essential new insights into addiction and treatmentErica C. Barnett had her...

Check the Catalog



The Beauty in Breaking: A Memoir

Author: Michele Harper

ISBN: 9780525537380

An emergency room physician explores how a life of service to others taught her how to heal herself.Michele Harper is a female, African American emergency room physician in a profession that is overwhelmingly male and white. Brought up in Washington, D.C., in a complicated family, she went to Harvard, where...

Check the Catalog



The Unidentified: Mythical Monsters, Alien Encounters, and Our Obsession with the Unexplained

Author: Colin Dickey

ISBN: 9780525557562

America's favorite cultural historian and author of Ghostland takes a tour of the country's most persistent "unexplained" phenomenaIn a world where rational, scientific explanations are more available than ever, belief in the unprovable and irrational--in fringe--is on the rise: from Atlantis to aliens, from Flat Earth to the Loch Ness...

Check the Catalog



Begin Again: James Baldwin's America and Its Urgent Lessons for Our Own

Author: Eddie S. Glaude Jr.

ISBN: 9780525575320

We live, according to Eddie S. Glaude Jr., in a moment when the struggles of Black Lives Matter and the attempt to achieve a new America have been challenged by the election of Donald Trump, a president whose victory represents yet another failure of America to face the lies it...

Check the Catalog



The Case of the Vanishing Blonde: And Other True Crime Stories

Author: Mark Bowden

ISBN: 9780802128447

Six captivating true-crime stories, spanning Mark Bowden's long and illustrious career, cover a variety of crimes complicated by extraordinary circumstances. Winner of a lifetime achievement award from International Thriller Writers, Bowden revisits in The Case of the Vanishing Blonde some of his most riveting stories and examines the effects of...

Check the Catalog



The Vapors: A Southern Family, the New York Mob, and the Rise and Fall of Hot Springs, America's Forgotten Capital of Vice

Author: David Hill

ISBN: 9781250086112

The incredible true story of America's original -- and forgotten -- capital of viceBack in the days before Vegas was big, when the Mob was at its peak and neon lights were but a glimmer on the horizon, a little Southern town styled itself as a premier destination for the...

Check the Catalog






The Perfect Father: The True Story of Chris Watts, His All-American Family, and a Shocking Murder

Author: John Glatt

ISBN: 9781250231611

In The Perfect Father, New York Times bestselling author John Glatt reveals the tragedy of the Watts family, whose seemingly perfect lives played out on social media -- but the truth would lead to a vicious and heartbreaking murder. In the early morning hours of August 13th, 2018, Shanann Watts...

Check the Catalog



Ms. Gloria Steinem: A Life

Author: Conkling, Winifred

ISBN: 9781250244574

Gloria Steinem was no stranger to injustice even from a young age. Her mother, Ruth, having suffered a nervous breakdown at only 34, spent much of Gloria's childhood in and out of mental health facilities. And when Gloria was only 10 years old, her father divorced her mother and left...

Check the Catalog



1939: A People's History of the Coming of the Second World War

Author: Frederick Taylor

ISBN: 9781324006794

A best-selling historian's chronicle of the dramatic months from the Munich Agreement to Hitler's invasion of Poland and the beginning of World War II.In the autumn of 1938, Europe believed in the promise of peace. But only a year later, the fateful decisions of just a few men had again...

Check the Catalog



The Bohemians: The Lovers Who Led Germany's Resistance Against the Nazis

Author: Norman Ohler

ISBN: 9781328566300

From the New York Times best-selling author of Blitzed, the incredible true story of two idealistic young lovers who led the anti-Nazi resistance in the darkening heart of Berlin Summertime, 1935. On a lake near Berlin, a young man is out sailing when he glimpses a woman reclining in the...

Check the Catalog



Dewey Defeats Truman: The 1948 Election and the Battle for America's Soul

Author: A. J. Baime

ISBN: 9781328585066

From the New York Times best-selling author of The Accidental President comes the thrilling story of the 1948 presidential election, one of the greatest election stories of all time, as Truman mounted a history-making comeback and staked a claim for a new course for America.On the eve of the 194...

Check the Catalog



The Brothers York: A Royal Tragedy

Author: Thomas Penn

ISBN: 9781451694178

Vicious battles, powerful monarchs, and royal intrigue abound in this "gripping, complex, and sensational" (Hilary Mantel) true story of the War of the Roses - a struggle among three brothers, two of whom became kings, and the inspiration for Shakespeare's renowned play, Richard III. In 15th-century England, two royal families...

Check the Catalog



Butch Cassidy: The True Story of an American Outlaw

Author: Charles Leerhsen

ISBN: 9781501117480

Charles Leerhsen brings the notorious Butch Cassidy to vivid life in this surprising and entertaining biography that goes beyond the movie Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid to reveal a more fascinating and complicated man than legend provides.For more than a century the life and death of Butch Cassidy have...

Check the Catalog



14 Miles: Building the Border Wall

Author: DW Gibson

ISBN: 9781501183416

An esteemed journalist delivers a compelling on-the-ground account of the construction of President Trump's border wall in San Diego - and the impact on the lives of local residents.In August of 2019, Donald Trump finished building his border wall - at least a portion of it. In San Diego, the...

Check the Catalog



The Divine Miss Marble: A Life of Tennis, Fame, and Mystery

Author: Robert Weintraub

ISBN: 9781524745363

The story of 1930s tennis icon Alice Marble, and her life of sports, celebrity, and incredible mystery. Who was Alice Marble? In her public life, she was the biggest tennis star of the pre-war era, a household name like Joe DiMaggio and Joe Louis. She was famous for overcoming serious...

Check the Catalog



The Cold Vanish: Seeking the Missing in North America's Wildlands

Author: Jon Billman

ISBN: 9781538747575

For readers of Jon Krakauer and Douglas Preston, the critically acclaimed author and journalist Jon Billman's fascinating, in-depth look at people who vanish in the wilderness without a trace and those eccentric, determined characters who try to find them. These are the stories that defy conventional logic. The proverbial vanished...

Check the Catalog



Broken Roads: Returning to My Amish Father

Author: Ira Wagler

ISBN: 9781546012061

In this insightful memoir, the New York Times bestselling author of Growing Up Amish tries to reconcile his father, family, and heritage after leaving his faith behind.In Broken Roads, Ira Wagler uses his singular voice to unapologetically, but compassionately, illuminate the inner world of the Amish community through his story...

Check the Catalog



The Big Life of Little Richard

Author: Mark Ribowsky

ISBN: 9781635767223

"Tutti Frutti" * "Rip It Up" * "Good Golly Miss Molly" * "Lucille" * "Long Tall Sally" * "You Keep A-Knockin'" Little Richard blazed the trail for generations of musicians -- The Beatles, James Brown, the Everly Brothers, Jimi Hendrix, the Rolling Stones, Elton John, Prince . . . the...

Check the Catalog



The Stringbags

Author: Garth Ennis

ISBN: 9781682475034

If you do the incredible often enough, they'll want you to do the impossible.Nazi Germany, Imperial Japan, and Fascist Italy began World War II with torpedo bombers that could devastate enemy warships and merchantmen at will. Britain's Royal Navy squadrons went to war equipped with the Fairey Swordfish. A biplane...

Check the Catalog



Your Second Act: Inspiring Stories of Reinvention

Author: Patricia Heaton

ISBN: 9781982141608

An entertaining, inspirational book about second acts in life and reinventing yourself from beloved television actress Patricia Heaton - Emmy Award-winning star of Everybody Loves Raymond, The Middle, and most recently, Carol's Second Act.Patricia Heaton is one of TV's most recognizable and beloved moms. She's won two Emmys for her...

Check the Catalog



Disability Visibility: First-Person Stories from the Twenty-First Century

Author: Alice Wong

ISBN: 9781984899422

One in five people in the United States lives with a disability. Some disabilities are visible, others less apparent - but all are underrepresented in media and popular culture. Now, just in time for the thirtieth anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act, activist Alice Wong brings together this urgent...

Check the Catalog