Juvenile Fiction & Nonfiction

Accelerated Reader - Find books for a specific reading level.


Silverworld

Author: Diana Abu-Jaber

ISBN: 0553509675

Sitti, Sami's Lebanese grandmother, has been ill for a while, slipping from reality and speaking in a language only Sami can understand. Her family thinks Sitti belongs in a nursing home, but Sami doesn't believe she's sick at all. Desperate to help, Sami casts a spell fro

Check the Catalog



A Wolf for a Spell

Author: Karah Sutton

ISBN: 0593121651

Since she was a pup, Zima has been taught to fear humans--especially witches--but when her family is threatened, she has no choice but to seek help from the witch Baba Yaga.Baba Yaga never does magic for free, but it just so happens that she needs a wolf's keen nos

Check the Catalog



Spy Penguins: Golden Egg

Author: Sam Hay

ISBN: 1250188636

A legendary criminal has escaped from jail, and Jackson and Quigley are on the case! This time they will definitely prove themselves worthy of joining the FBI (Frosty Bureau of Investigation) . There's just one small problem: the Egg. Jackson's mom has come d

Check the Catalog



Stick With Me

Author: Jennifer Blecher

ISBN: 9780062748621

An ice skater without a rink. An artist without a place to draw. Two misfit girls who become unlikely friends over the course of an unusual week. Readers of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Rebecca Stead, and Lisa Graff will adore Stick with Me.Izzy's best friend seems to be ditching her for...

Check the Catalog



Fantastic Tales of Nothing

Author: Alejandra Green

ISBN: 9780062839473

In the first book of this full-color fantasy graphic novel series filled with humor and hijinks, the fate of the land of Nothing hinges on Nathan and an unlikely team of magical beings to save the day - perfect for fans of Amulet and Estranged. Welcome to Nothing! Despite its...

Check the Catalog



WolfWalkers: The Graphic Novel

Author: Tomm Moore & Ross Stewart

ISBN: 9780316429535

On the orders of the Lord Protector Cromwell, Robyn Goodfellowe and her father come to Kilkenny, Ireland, to wipe out the last of the wolves, deemed dangerous beasts, that live in the neighboring forest. Robyn, unable to hunt with her father and sick of being confined within the city walls...

Check the Catalog



Ana on the Edge

Author: A. J. Sass

ISBN: 9780316458610

Twelve-year-old Ana-Marie Jin, the reigning US Juvenile figure skating champion, is not a frilly dress kind of kid. So, when Ana learns that next season's program will be princess themed, doubt forms fast. Still, Ana tries to focus on training and putting together a stellar routine worthy of national success.Once...

Check the Catalog



This Is Your Time

Author: Ruby Bridges

ISBN: 9780593378526

Written as a letter from civil rights activist and icon Ruby Bridges to the reader, This Is Your Time is both a recounting of Ruby's experience as a child who had no choice but to be escorted to class by federal marshals when she was chosen as one of the...

Check the Catalog



Star Wars Complete Vehicles New Edition

Author: Pablo Hidalgo

ISBN: 9780744020571

More than 100 magnificent cross-section artworks bring the vehicles of Star Wars to life. New cross-sections, amazing detail, and comprehensive text make this the ultimate reference to the craft of a galaxy far, far away.... - Poe Dameron's X-wing in action- The terrifying power of Darth Vader's TIE Advanced x1-...

Check the Catalog



The Secret Explorers and the Lost Whales

Author: DK

ISBN: 9780744021059

Meet The Secret Explorers! This group of brilliant kids comes together from all four corners of the globe to fix problems, solve mysteries, and gather knowledge all over the planet - and beyond. Whenever their help is needed, a special sign will appear on a door. They step through to...

Check the Catalog



Mary Seacole: Bound for the Battlefield

Author: Susan Goldman Rubin

ISBN: 9780763679941

Mary Seacole spent much of her life on the front lines of the Crimean War, ministering to the wounded, caring for soldiers, and making her mark on the world of medicine. This fascinating biography honors Mary Seacole's life, from her childhood in Kingston, Jamaica, and her encounters with racist Americans...

Check the Catalog



Surprising Spies: Unexpected Heroes of World War II

Author: Karen Gray Ruelle

ISBN: 9780823437573

Josephine Baker. Virginia Hall. Roy Hawthorne. These are but a few of the daring spies who risked it all to deliver and protect crucial intel for the Allied powers. From housing refugees and resistance members while extracting secrets from diplomats to developing a groundbreaking, war-changing code and keeping it top...

Check the Catalog



Meet the Crew at the Zoo

Author: Patricia Reilly Giff

ISBN: 9780823446667

Solve mysteries at a city zoo with a diverse group of kids in this illustrated chapter book from a two-time Newbery Honor author.Lions and tigers for neighbors? That doesn't bother Luke at all. It's making new friends that scares him. Not only has Luke had to move from Florida to...

Check the Catalog



Who Did It First? 50 Icons, Luminaries, and Legends Who Revolutionized the World

Author: Megan Reid

ISBN: 9781250263193

You may know that Beyoncé was the first African American woman to headline Coachella. And maybe you know that Pelé was the first soccer player to score 1,000 professional goals. You might not know that RuPaul Charles was the first drag queen to get a star on the Hollywood Walk...

Check the Catalog



For Unicorn Lovers Only: History, Mythology, Facts, and More

Author: Penelope Gwynne

ISBN: 9781250759399

Unicorns have changed a lot through the ages, but some things have stayed the same: They're still magical and mysterious, elusive and entertaining. And they're still the most fascinating mythical beasts in the world. Vibrantly illustrated by Eisner Award winner Katie O'Neill, For Unicorn Lovers Only tells fans everything they...

Check the Catalog



Flooded: Requiem for Johnstown

Author: Ann E. Burg

ISBN: 9781338540697

Johnstown, Pennsylvania, in 1889 was a lively, working-class factory city. Above the soot-soaked streets, an elite fishing and hunting club, built on a pristine man-made lake, drew America's wealthiest business barons. Though repeatedly urged to fix the deteriorating dam that held the lake, the club members disregarded the warnings. And...

Check the Catalog



The Everything Kids' Cookbook, Updated Edition: 90 Easy Recipes You'll Love to Make―and Eat!

Author: Sandra K Nissenberg

ISBN: 9781507214008

The Everything Kids' Cookbook, Updated Edition has everything your child needs to get started in the kitchen. Each simple but delicious recipe includes a difficulty level and a list of all the equipment needed so you can determine which recipe is suitable for your child. And with more than 9...

Check the Catalog



My Life in the Fish Tank

Author: Barbara Dee

ISBN: 9781534432338

When twelve-year-old Zinnia Manning's older brother Gabriel is diagnosed with a mental illness, the family's world is turned upside down. Mom and Dad want Zinny, her sixteen-year-old sister, Scarlett, and her eight-year-old brother, Aiden, to keep Gabriel's condition "private" - and to Zinny that sounds the same as "secret." Which...

Check the Catalog



Grasping Mysteries: Girls Who Loved Math

Author: Jeannine Atkins

ISBN: 9781534460683

Learn about seven groundbreaking women in math and science in this gorgeously written biographical novel-in-verse, a companion to the "original and memorable" (BOOKLIST , starred review) Finding Wonders: Three Girls Who Changed Science.After a childhood spent looking up at the stars, Caroline Herschel was the first woman to discover a...

Check the Catalog



The Suffragist Playbook: Your Guide to Changing the World

Author: Lucinda Robb

ISBN: 9781536210330

The women's suffrage movement was decades in the making and came with many harsh setbacks. But it resulted in a permanent victory: women's right to vote. How did the suffragists do it? One hundred years later, an eye-opening look at their playbook shows that some of their strategies seem oddly...

Check the Catalog



Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures

Author: Helen Skelton

ISBN: 9781536212860

From kayaking the length of the Amazon to biking to the South Pole and running an ultramarathon across the Namib desert, Helen Skelton shares the stories of her most daring feats of endurance and grit in some of the world's most extreme wildernesses - overcoming challenges, embracing her fears, and...

Check the Catalog



The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II

Author: Michael Rosen

ISBN: 9781536212891

An award-winning author and poet traces the history of his relatives lost in the Holocaust in a personal, powerful narrative with resonance for readers today."They were there at the beginning of the war, but they were gone by the end. I suppose they died in the camps."That's all young Michael...

Check the Catalog



Desert Diary: Japanese American Kids Behind Barbed Wire

Author: Michael O. Tunnell

ISBN: 9781580897891

A moving primary source sheds light on the experience of Japanese American children imprisoned in a World War II internment camp.A classroom diary created by Japanese American children paints a vivid picture of daily life in a so-called "internment camp." Mae Yanagi was eight years old when she started school...

Check the Catalog



Powers in Action Volume 1

Author: Art Baltazar

ISBN: 9781632294418

The year was 1986... when Art Baltazar created his first Super Heroes. Before TINY TITANS. Before ITTY BITTY HELLBOY. Before the AW YEAH COMICS shops. Before the indie hit sensation PATRICK THE WOLF BOY. Even before Artie's first self-published work THE CRAY BABY ADVENTURES. There was POWERS IN ACTION! Based...

Check the Catalog