Juvenile Fiction & Nonfiction

Accelerated Reader - Find books for a specific reading level.


One Jar of Magic

Author: Corey Ann Haydu

ISBN: 9780062689856

From the critically acclaimed author of Eventown comes a hopeful and empowering tale set in an enchanting world of magic and mysterious family secrets - perfect for fans of Anne Ursu, Rebecca Stead, and Wendy Mass. Magic is like a dream. Delightful. Terrifying. Unreal. Rose Alice Anders is Little Luck...

Check the Catalog



Ancestor Approved: Intertribal Stories for Kids

Author: Cynthia Leitich Smith

ISBN: 9780062869944

Edited by award-winning and bestselling author Cynthia Leitich Smith, this collection of intersecting stories by both new and veteran Native writers bursts with hope, joy, resilience, the strength of community, and Native pride. Native families from Nations across the continent gather at the Dance for Mother Earth Powwow in Ann...

Check the Catalog



Climate Action: What Happened and What We Can Do

Author: Seymour Simon

ISBN: 9780062943316

Everyone is affected by climate change. Reading Climate Action: What Happened and What We Can Do is the perfect introduction not only to the dramatic effects of climate change, but to the solutions. Learn how our behavior and actions have led us to this point, hear from kids around the...

Check the Catalog



What Was the Age of Exploration?

Author: Catherine Daly

ISBN: 9780593093825

Before the fifteenth century, European sailors were unsure what waited for them beyond their well-known travel routes around the Mediterranean Sea, so they kept within sight of land. But all of that changed after Prince Henry the Navigator of Portugal started sending ships down the coast in the hope of...

Check the Catalog



Becoming: Adapted for Young Readers

Author: Michelle Obama

ISBN: 9780593303740

Michelle Robinson was born on the South Side of Chicago. From her modest beginnings, she would become Michelle Obama, the inspiring and powerful First Lady of the United States, when her husband, Barack Obama, was elected the forty-fourth president. They would be the first Black First Family in the White...

Check the Catalog



The Elephant in the Room

Author: Holly Goldberg Sloan

ISBN: 9780735229945

It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway around the world to Turkey, hoping to secure the immigration paperwork that would allow her to return to her family in the United States.The long separation is almost impossible for Sila to withstand. But things change when Sila accompanies her...

Check the Catalog



Chef Yasmina and the Potato Panic

Author: Wauter Mannaert

ISBN: 9781250622051

Yasmina isn't like the other kids in her city. Maybe it's the big chef hat she wears. Or the fact that she stuffs her dad's lunchbox full of spring rolls instead of peanut butter and jelly. She might be an oddball, but no one can deny that Yasmina has a...

Check the Catalog



Allergic: A Graphic Novel

Author: Megan Wagner Lloyd

ISBN: 9781338568905

At home, Maggie is the odd one out. Her parents are preoccupied with the new baby they're expecting, and her younger brothers are twins and always in their own world. Maggie thinks a new puppy is the answer, but when she goes to select one on her birthday, she breaks...

Check the Catalog



Wild River

Author: Rodman Philbrick

ISBN: 9781338647273

Daniel Redmayne is fast asleep on the first night of a white water rafting trip, when he's awoken by screams. The dam has failed. The river is surging, and their camp will be under water in a matter of moments.As the shrieking roar of the river rushes closer, the kids...

Check the Catalog



Delphine and the Silver Needle

Author: Alyssa Moon

ISBN: 9781368048026

To unravel any mystery, find the knot.When Delphine, a young orphaned dressmaker mouse living in the walls of Cinderella's chteau, stumbles upon an enormous secret, it upends everything she thought she knew: The magical tailor mice of legend really existed. Racing to stay ahead of King Midnight, the fearsome leader...

Check the Catalog



The Middle Kid

Author: Steven Weinberg

ISBN: 9781452181806

When you're the middle kid, you're never the first nor the last to do anything. You're not the tallest or the smallest; you're babysitting one sibling but teased by the other. Stuck between a bossy older brother and a naive younger sister, Middle Kid feels left out of two worlds...

Check the Catalog



Design Like Nature: Biomimicry for a Healthy Planet

Author: Megan Clendenan

ISBN: 9781459824645

Did you know that lamps can be powered by glowing bacteria instead of electricity? That gloves designed like gecko feet let people climb straight up glass walls? Or that kids are finding ways to make compostable plastic out of banana peels? Biomimicry, the scientific term for when we learn from...

Check the Catalog



Golden Gate

Author: James Ponti

ISBN: 9781534414945

After thwarting a notorious villain at an eco-summit in Paris, the City Spies are gearing up for their next mission. Operating out of a base in Scotland, this secret team of young agents working for the British Secret Intelligence Service's MI6 division have honed their unique skills, such as sleight...

Check the Catalog



Charlie Thorne and the Lost City

Author: Stuart Gibbs

ISBN: 9781534443815

Charlie Thorne is a genius. Charlie Thorne is a fugitive. Charlie Thorne isn't even thirteen. After saving the world, Charlie is ready to take it easy in the Galapagos Islands. That is, until she's approached by the mysterious Esmeralda Castle, who has a code she knows only Charlie can decipher...

Check the Catalog



Wonder Women of Science: How 12 Geniuses Are Rocking Science, Technology, and the World

Author: Tiera Fletcher

ISBN: 9781536207347

Searching the cosmos for a new Earth. Using math to fight human trafficking. Designing invisible (and safer) cars. Unlocking climate-change secrets. All of this groundbreaking science, and much more, is happening right now, spearheaded by the diverse female scientists and engineers profiled in this book. Meet award-winning aerospace engineer Tiera...

Check the Catalog



Classified: The Secret Career of Mary Golda Ross, Cherokee Aerospace Engineer

Author: Traci Sorell

ISBN: 9781541579149

Mary Golda Ross designed classified airplanes and spacecraft as Lockheed Aircraft Corporation's first female engineer. Find out how her passion for math and the Cherokee values she was raised with shaped her life and work. Cherokee author Traci Sorell and Métis illustrator Natasha Donovan trace Ross's journey from being the...

Check the Catalog