Juvenile Fiction & Nonfiction

Accelerated Reader - Find books for a specific reading level.


Wondrous Rex

Author: Patricia MacLachlan

ISBN: 0062940988

Newbery Medal-winning author Patricia MacLachlan has written a magical and funny tale about the joy found in using words, sharing stories, and loving a wondrous dog: Rex.Grace's aunt is a writer. She works with words every day and teaches Grace interesting words like &qu

Check the Catalog



The Only Black Girls in Town

Author: Brandy Colbert

ISBN: 0316456381

Award-winning YA author Brandy Colbert's debut middle-grade novel about the only two black girls in town who discover a collection of hidden journals revealing shocking secrets of the past. Beach-loving surfer Alberta has been the only black girl in town for years. Alberta

Check the Catalog



Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valor

Author: Ally Carter

ISBN: 0358003199

New York Times best-selling author Ally Carter's middle grade debut is full of mystery, mayhem, and friendship, and it will keep you guessing until the very end. April didn't mean to start the fire. She wasn't even the one who broke the vase. She had absolu

Check the Catalog



The Runaway Princess

Author: Johan Troianowski

ISBN: 0593118405

This princess can't resist the lure of adventure, but her parents aren't quite on board in this fantastical graphic novel perfect for fans of Princess in Black and Phoebe and Her Unicorn!Robin? Robin? Robin?! Where are you?She couldn't have gone far. . . .P

Check the Catalog



Snapdragon

Author: Kat Leyh

ISBN: 1250171113

Kat Leyh's Snapdragon is a magical realist graphic novel about a young girl who befriends her town's witch and discovers the strange magic within herself.Snap's town had a witch.At least, that's how the rumor goes. But in reality, Jacks is just a crocks-wea

Check the Catalog



InvestiGators

Author: John Patrick Green

ISBN: 1250219957

John Patrick Green's goofy graphic novel series follows the super spy alligator duo the InvestiGators as they travel through the sewers and fight the forces of evil.MANGO and BRASH are the INVESTIGATORS:sewer-loving agents of S.U.I.T.* and scourge of supervillains ev

Check the Catalog



The Story Seeker: A New York Public Library Book

Author: Kristin O'Donnell Tubb

ISBN: 1250301092

The follow-up to The Story Collector, Kristen O'Donnell Tubb's The Story Thief delivers a heartwarming middle grade mystery that captures the illustrious New York Public Library during the roaring 20's...

Check the Catalog



Woke: A Young Poet's Call to Justice

Author: Mahogany L. Browne

ISBN: 1250311209

Woke: A Young Poet's Guide to Justice is a collection of poems to inspire kids to stay woke and become a new generation of activists.Historically poets have been on the forefront of social movements. Woke is a collection of poems by women that reflects the

Check the Catalog



The Fierce 44: Black Americans Who Shook Up the World

Author: The Staff of The Undefeated

ISBN: 1328940624

A dynamic and hip collective biography that presents 44 of America's greatest movers and shakers from Frederick Douglass to Aretha Franklin to Barack Obama, written by ESPN's TheUndefeated.com and illustrated with dazzling portraits by Rob Ball.Meet forty-four of America's

Check the Catalog



Can You See Me?

Author: Libby Scott

ISBN: 1338608916

A coming-of-age story about learning to celebrate yourself -- and teaching the world to recognize you, too -- perfect for fans of R. J. Palacio's Wonder!"This glimpse into the world of a young autistic girl is astonishingly insightful and honest. Tally's struggl

Check the Catalog



Gold Rush Girl

Author: Avi

ISBN: 1536206792

Newbery Medalist Avi brings us mud-caked, tent-filled San Francisco in 1848 with a willful heroine who goes on an unintended - and perilous - adventure to save her brother.Victoria Blaisdell longs for independence and adventure, and she yearns to accompany her father a

Check the Catalog



Stand Up, Yumi Chung!

Author: Jessica Kim

ISBN: 9780525554974

One lie snowballs into a full-blown double life in this irresistible story about an aspiring stand-up comedian.On the outside, Yumi Chung suffers from #shygirlproblems, a perm-gone-wrong, and kids calling her "Yu-MEAT" because she smells like her family's Korean barbecue restaurant. On the inside, Yumi is ready for her Netflix stand-up...

Check the Catalog



Mulan: Before the Sword

Author: Grace Lin

ISBN: 9781368020336

New York Times bestselling author Grace Lin pens this novel filled with adventure and wonder set before the upcoming Walt Disney Studios Mulan film.

Check the Catalog



Extreme Ocean: Amazing Animals, High-Tech Gear, Record-Breaking Depths, and More

Author: Sylvia Earle

ISBN: 9781426336867

Discover the most outrageous aspects of the deep blue---from record-breaking depths to towering tsunamis, underwater giants to tiny sea creatures--along with ocean conservation challenges and what you can do to help.Dive into a world of aquatic mystery in this action-packed combination of science and adventure. Famed National Geographic Explorer Sylvia...

Check the Catalog



The Blackbird Girls

Author: Anne Blankman

ISBN: 9781984837356

Like Ruta Sepetys for middle grade, Anne Blankman pens a poignant and timeless story of friendship that twines together moments in underexplored history.On a spring morning, neighbors Valentina Kaplan and Oksana Savchenko wake up to an angry red sky. A reactor at the nuclear power plant where their fathers work--Chernobyl--has...

Check the Catalog