New Nonfiction


Ready or Not: Preparing Our Kids to Thrive in an Uncertain and Rapidly Changing World

Author: Madeline Levine PhD

ISBN: 9780062657756

The New York Times bestselling author of The Price of Privilege and Teach Your Children Well explores how today's parenting techniques and our myopic educational system are failing to prepare children for their certain-to-be-uncertain future - and how we can reverse course to ensure their lasting adaptability, resilience, health and...

Check the Catalog



Summer Snow: New Poems

Author: Robert Hass

ISBN: 9780062950024

A major collection of entirely new poems from the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award-winning author of Time and Materials and The Apple Trees at OlemaA new volume of poetry from Robert Hass is always an event. In Summer Snow, his first collection of poems since 2010, Hass further affirms...

Check the Catalog



Everyday Ubuntu: Living Better Together, the African Way

Author: Mungi Ngomane

ISBN: 9780062977557

Foreword by Archbishop Desmond TutuMungi Ngomane, granddaughter of Nobel Peace Prize-winner Archbishop Desmond Tutu, offers an introduction to ubuntu, the Southern African philosophy that celebrates the universal human bond in this beautiful definitive guide, illustrated with full-color photos and filled with lessons on how to live harmoniously with all people."This...

Check the Catalog






Everything Isn't Terrible: Conquer Your Insecurities, Interrupt Your Anxiety, and Finally Calm Down

Author: Kathleen Smith

ISBN: 9780316492539

In the spirit of You Are a Badass and The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F*ck, a helpful and humorous guide to shedding our anxious habits and building a more solid sense of self in our increasingly anxiety-inducing world.Licensed therapist and mental health writer Dr. Kathleen Smith offers a...

Check the Catalog



When My Time Comes: Conversations About Whether Those Who Are Dying Should Have the Right to Determine When Life Should End

Author: Diane Rehm

ISBN: 9780525654759

From Diane Rehm, renowned radio host--one of the most trusted voices in the nation--and best-selling author: a book of candor and compassion, addressing the urgent, hotly contested cause of the Right-to-Die movement, of which she is one of our most inspiring champions.Soon to be a public television documentary of the...

Check the Catalog



Recollections of My Nonexistence: A Memoir

Author: Rebecca Solnit

ISBN: 9780593083338

An electric portrait of the artist as a young woman that asks how a writer finds her voice in a society that prefers women to be silentIn Recollections of My Nonexistence, Rebecca Solnit describes her formation as a writer and as a feminist in 1980s San Francisco, in an atmosphere...

Check the Catalog



The Mediterranean Method: Lose Weight, Prevent Heart Disease, Avoid Memory Loss...and More with the Healthiest Diet on the Planet

Author: Steven Masley M.D.

ISBN: 9780593136034

From a bestselling author and physician, this fresh approach to the Mediterranean diet updates the cuisine and eating style ranked #1 by U.S. News and World Report in 2019, helping readers lose weight and improve the health of their heart, brain, gut, and microbiome.From southern Italy, Sardinia, and France to...

Check the Catalog



Capital and Ideology

Author: Thomas Piketty

ISBN: 9780674980822

The epic successor to one of the most important books of the century: at once a retelling of global history, a scathing critique of contemporary politics, and a bold proposal for a new and fairer economic system.Thomas Piketty's bestselling Capital in the Twenty-First Century galvanized global debate about inequality. In...

Check the Catalog



This Book Is Anti-Racist: 20 lessons on how to wake up, take action, and do the work

Author: Tiffany Jewell

ISBN: 9780711245211

Who are you? What is racism? Where does it come from? Why does it exist? What can you do to disrupt it? Learn about social identities, the history of racism and resistance against it, and how you can use your anti-racist lens and voice to move the world toward equity...

Check the Catalog



The Calling: 3 Fundamental Shifts to Stay True, Get Paid, and Do Good

Author: Rha Goddess

ISBN: 9781250204691

A game-changing book offering a six-step approach on how to find and follow your true calling and redefine success from entrepeneur and soul coach Rha Goddess.Are you willing to believe in you?Every single one of us has a calling.For most it's the thing you have to force yourself not to...

Check the Catalog



Father of Lions: One Man's Remarkable Quest to Save the Mosul Zoo

Author: Louise Callaghan

ISBN: 9781250248947

Father of Lions is the powerful true story of the evacuation of the Mosul Zoo, featuring Abu Laith the zookeeper, Simba the lion cub, Lula the bear, and countless others, faithfully depicted by acclaimed, award-winning journalist Louise Callaghan in her trade publishing debut.Combining a true-to-life narrative of humanity in the...

Check the Catalog



The No-Cry Sleep Solution, Second Edition

Author: Elizabeth Pantley

ISBN: 9781260462128

The classic, best-selling no-tears guide to making sure your baby -- and you -- get a full night's sleep has been updated - it is now easier to use and has been expanded to include more solutions plus critical new safety information.Nearly all babies fight sleep. Some people argue that...

Check the Catalog



Simple Farmhouse Life: DIY Projects for the All-Natural, Hand-Made Home

Author: Bass, Lisa

ISBN: 9781493042746

Transform your home into a simple farmhouse--no matter where you live--with this beautiful guide to slow living. Country girl and popular blogger Lisa Bass shares her favorite hearty recipes, handmade projects, and tips for natural living that she uses in her own from-scratch life. Slow down and enjoy the simplicity...

Check the Catalog



Fight of the Century: Writers Reflect on 100 Years of Landmark ACLU Cases

Author: Viet Thanh Nguyen

ISBN: 9781501190407

A unique collaboration between the American Civil Liberties Union and authors Michael Chabon and Ayelet Waldman, Fight of the Century features original essays by the most influential writers at work today - including Jennifer Egan, Neil Gaiman, Marlon James, Viet Thanh Nguyen, Salman Rushdie, Jesmyn Ward, and more - each...

Check the Catalog



Make Noise: A Creator's Guide to Podcasting and Great Audio Storytelling

Author: Eric Nuzum

ISBN: 9781523504558

Podcasting is the fast-growing media platform in the world, with currently 650,000 podcasts out there, in 100 languages, and offering over 20 million episodes. And we're only at the beginning. More and more podcasts appear every day, and more and more entrepreneurs, businesses, individuals, and distributors, like Spotify, are getting...

Check the Catalog



Younger Next Year: Live Strong, Fit, Sexy, and Smart―Until You're 80 and Beyond

Author: Chris Crowley

ISBN: 9781523507924

To mark the 15th anniversary of the bestselling series, Younger Next Year now includes two new chapters on the link between physical exercise and brain health. Their message is straightforward: A program of consistent exercise and eating right not only helps us physically but improves memory, cognition, mood, and more...

Check the Catalog



Consider This

Author: Chuck Palahniuk

ISBN: 9781538717950

Renowned, bestselling novelist Chuck Palahniuk takes us behind the scenes of the writing life, with postcards from decades on the road and incredible examination of the power of fiction and the art of storytelling.In this spellbinding blend of memoir and insight, bestselling author Chuck Palahniuk shares stories and generous advice...

Check the Catalog



Hello, Cookie Dough: 110 Doughlicious Confections to Eat, Bake, and Share

Author: Kristen Tomlan

ISBN: 9781538748886

Safe-to-eat cookie doughs and baked treats from the creator of the world's first edible cookie dough shopFinally, you can eat cookie dough how you've always craved it: straight from the mixing bowl! In her rule-breaking first book, Kristen Tomlan, the Queen of Cookie Dough, spills her secrets about how to...

Check the Catalog



Average is the New Awesome: A Manifesto for the Rest of Us

Author: Samantha Matt

ISBN: 9781580059350

A celebration of ordinary awesomeness, for all of us who were told "You can do anything!" and then found out we actually can'tCrappy homes, lame love lives, getting passed over for a great job (again) --not what we expected for our adulthoods. Americans tell their children you can become anything...

Check the Catalog



Get Out of Your Head: Stopping the Spiral of Toxic Thoughts

Author: Jennie Allen

ISBN: 9781601429643

The visionary behind the million-strong IF:Gathering challenges Christian women to transform their outlook and their lives by interrupting their spiraling thoughts and realizing their God-given power to think differently.Speaker and Bible teacher Jennie Allen hears all the time from women who feel stuck in patterns of frustration and defeat. In...

Check the Catalog



Comeback Careers: Rethink, Refresh, Reinvent Your Success--At 40, 50, and Beyond

Author: Mika Brzezinski

ISBN: 9781602865907

STRONG, WISER, BETTER An Essential Guide for Reentering, Reinventing, or Rebooting Your Career at Any Age So many women hit midlife and realize: it's time for a career change. Maybe you're yearning to try something new, or you're sensing that layoffs are coming and you need a backup plan. Perhaps...

Check the Catalog



What's Your Pronoun?: Beyond He and She

Author: Dennis Baron

ISBN: 9781631496042

Contextualizing one of the most pressing cultural questions of our generation, Dennis Baron reveals the untold story of how we got from he and she to zie and hir and singular- they.Like trigger warnings and gender-neutral bathrooms, pronouns are sparking a national debate, prompting new policies in schools, workplaces, even...

Check the Catalog



Secondhand: Travels in the New Global Garage Sale

Author: Adam Minter

ISBN: 9781635570106

From the author of Junkyard Planet, a journey into the surprising afterlives of our former possessions.Downsizing. Decluttering. A parent's death. Sooner or later, all of us are faced with things we no longer need or want. But when we drop our old clothes and other items off at a local...

Check the Catalog



Rewild Yourself: Making Nature More Visible in our Lives

Author: Simon Barnes

ISBN: 9781643132167

For those readers who want to get closer to the nature all around them and bring it back into focus within their lives, this book is the ideal companion.We're not just losing the wild world. We're forgetting it. We're no longer noticing it. We've lost the habit of looking and...

Check the Catalog



100 Fashion Icons

Author: Keaney, Magda

ISBN: 9781855147379

Check the Catalog



F*ck Your Diet: And Other Things My Thighs Tell Me

Author: Chloe Hilliard

ISBN: 9781982108618

Fans of Issa Rae and Phoebe Robinson will love this collection of laugh-out-loud funny and insightful essays that explore race, feminism, pop culture, and how society reinforces the message that we are nothing without the perfect body. By the time Chloé Hilliard was 12, she wore a size 12 -...

Check the Catalog



The Gift of Forgiveness: Inspiring Stories from Those Who Have Overcome the Unforgivable

Author: Katherine Schwarzenegger

ISBN: 9781984878250

A fresh, inspiring book on learning how to forgive--with firsthand stories from those who have learned to let go of resentment and find peace"When we learn to embrace forgiveness, it opens us up to healing, hope, and a new world of possibility." --Katherine Schwarzenegger PrattWritten with grace and understanding and...

Check the Catalog