Weekly Staff Picks

What is the library staff most excited to get home and read? We recommend these latest releases!


The Boy in the Field: A Novel

Author: Margot Livesey

ISBN: 9780062946393

The New York Times bestselling author of The Flight of Gemma Hardy delivers another "luminous, unforgettable, and perfectly rendered" (Dennis Lehane) novel - a poignant and probing psychological drama that follows the lives of three siblings in the wake of a violent crime.One September afternoon in 1999, teenagers Matthew, Zoe...

Check the Catalog



Black Bottom Saints: A Novel

Author: Alice Randall

ISBN: 9780062968623

An enthralling literary tour-de-force that pays tribute to Detroit's legendary neighborhood, a mecca for jazz, sports, and politics, Black Bottom Saints is a powerful blend of fact and imagination reminiscent of E.L. Doctorow's classic novel Ragtime and Marlon James' Man Booker Award-winning masterpiece, A Brief History of Seven Killings.From the...

Check the Catalog



The Standardization of Demoralization Procedures

Author: Jennifer Hofmann

ISBN: 9780316426459

On November 9, 1989, Bernd Zeiger, a Stasi officer in the twilight of his career, is deteriorating from a mysterious illness. Alarmed by the disappearance of Lara, a young waitress at his regular café with whom he is obsessed, he chases a series of clues throughout Berlin. The details of...

Check the Catalog



Lone Jack Trail

Author: Owen Laukkanen

ISBN: 9780316448758

For fans of CJ Box and Michael Koryta, Owen Laukkanen's thrilling Neah Bay series continues with a new adventure for the tough ex-Marine, the sensitive ex-convict, and the rescue dog who changed both their lives.A body washes up on the shore near Deception Cove. It belongs to "Bad" Brock Boyd...

Check the Catalog



Veritas: A Harvard Professor, a Con Man and the Gospel of Jesus's Wife

Author: Ariel Sabar

ISBN: 9780385542586

From National Book Critics Circle Award-winning author Ariel Sabar, the gripping true story of a sensational Christian forgery and the scandal that engulfed Harvard.In 2012, Dr. Karen King, a star professor at Harvard Divinity School, announced a blockbuster discovery at a scholarly conference just steps from the Vatican: She had...

Check the Catalog



We Are All the Same in the Dark: A Novel

Author: Julia Heaberlin

ISBN: 9780525621676

The discovery of a girl abandoned by the side of the road threatens to unearth the long-buried secrets of a Texas town's legendary cold case in this superb, atmospheric novel from the internationally bestselling author of Black-Eyed Susans. It's been a decade since Trumanell Branson disappeared, leaving only a bloody...

Check the Catalog



Olive the Lionheart: Lost Love, Imperial Spies, and One Woman's Journey to the Heart of Africa

Author: Brad Ricca

ISBN: 9781250207012

"Brad Ricca's Olive MacLeod is my favorite sort of woman from history -- bold and unconventional, utterly unsinkable -- and her story is so full of adventure and acts of courage, it's hard to believe she actually lived. And yet she did! Brad Ricca has found a heroine for the...

Check the Catalog



Women in the Kitchen: Twelve Essential Cookbook Writers Who Defined the Way We Eat, from 1661 to Today

Author: Anne Willan

ISBN: 9781501173318

Culinary historian Anne Willan traces the origins of American cooking through profiles of twelve essential women cookbook writers - from Hannah Woolley in the mid-1600s to Fannie Farmer, Julia Child, and Alice Waters - highlighting their key historical contributions and most representative recipes.Anne Willan, multi-award-winning culinary historian, cookbook writer, cooking...

Check the Catalog



How Babies Sleep: The Gentle, Science-Based Method to Help Your Baby Sleep Through the Night

Author: Sofia Axelrod PhD

ISBN: 9781982112578

Discover the best baby sleep method - gentle, science-backed, and inspired by the latest Nobel Prize-winning research - that shows you how to get your baby to sleep through the night naturally.Sleep - or the lack of it - is one of the most crucial issues for new parents. Newborn...

Check the Catalog



Say No More

Author: Karen Rose

ISBN: 9781984805300

Mercy Callahan thought she'd escaped the cult decades ago, but its long fingers are reaching out for her again in this electrifying novel in the Sacramento series by New York Times bestselling author Karen Rose.Seventeen years ago. That was the last time Mercy Callahan saw Ephraim Burton, the leader of...

Check the Catalog



The New Chardonnay: The Unlikely Story of How Marijuana Went Mainstream

Author: Heather Cabot

ISBN: 9781984826244

From gleaming dispensaries stocked with elegantly wrapped edibles to the array of CBD lotions and oils for sale at your local drugstore to tastemaker Martha Stewart cooking up marijuana munchies on prime-time television, one thing is clear: Pot has fully shed its stoner image.In this deeply reported journey into the...

Check the Catalog