Weekly Staff Picks

What is the library staff most excited to get home and read? We recommend these latest releases!


The Hot Hand: The Mystery and Science of Streaks

Author: Ben Cohen

ISBN: 9780062820723

A brilliant and buoyant investigation into the existence (or not) of streaks, from a rising star at the Wall Street Journal.For decades, statisticians, social scientists, psychologists, and economists (among them Nobel Prize winners) have spent massive amounts of precious time thinking about whether streaks actually exist. After all, a substantial...

Check the Catalog



My Dark Vanessa: A Novel

Author: Kate Elizabeth Russell

ISBN: 9780062941503

"A hard story to read and a harder one to put down . . . a well-constructed package of dynamite." - Stephen KingExploring the psychological dynamics of the relationship between a precocious yet naïve teenage girl and her magnetic and manipulative teacher, a brilliant, all-consuming read that marks the explosive...

Check the Catalog



Black Widow: A Sad-Funny Journey Through Grief for People Who Normally Avoid Books with Words Like "Journey" in the Title

Author: Leslie Gray Streeter

ISBN: 9780316490719

With her signature warmth, hilarity, and tendency to overshare, Leslie Gray Streeter gives us real talk about love, loss, grief, and healing in your own way that "will make you laugh and cry, sometimes on the same page" (James Patterson) .Leslie Gray Streeter is not cut out for widowhood. She's...

Check the Catalog



Powershift: Transform Any Situation, Close Any Deal, and Achieve Any Outcome

Author: Daymond John

ISBN: 9780593136232

Bestselling author and Shark Tank star Daymond John reveals the secrets to cultivating influence, building relationships, and negotiating your way to any deal or outcome. Getting what you want in life is all about relationships: establishing them, leveraging them at the right time, and continuing to nurture them long afterwards...

Check the Catalog



Capital and Ideology

Author: Thomas Piketty

ISBN: 9780674980822

The epic successor to one of the most important books of the century: at once a retelling of global history, a scathing critique of contemporary politics, and a bold proposal for a new and fairer economic system.Thomas Piketty's bestselling Capital in the Twenty-First Century galvanized global debate about inequality. In...

Check the Catalog



The Mirror & the Light

Author: Hilary Mantel

ISBN: 9780805096606

With The Mirror & the Light, Hilary Mantel brings to a triumphant close the trilogy she began with her peerless, Booker Prize-winning novels, Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies. She traces the final years of Thomas Cromwell, the boy from nowhere who climbs to the heights of power, offering...

Check the Catalog



A Good Neighborhood

Author: Therese Anne Fowler

ISBN: 9781250237279

"Therese Anne Fowler has taken the ingredients of racism, justice, and conservative religion and has concocted a feast of a read: compelling, heartbreaking, and inevitable. I finished A Good Neighborhood in a single sitting. Yes, it's that good." -- Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Small Great...

Check the Catalog



The Hunt for History: On the Trail of the World's Lost Treasures―from the Letters of Lincoln, Churchill, and Einstein to the Secret Recordings Onboard JFK's Air Force One

Author: Nathan Raab

ISBN: 9781501198908

Nathan Raab, America's preeminent rare documents dealer, describes his years as the Sherlock Holmes of historical artifacts - questing after precious finds and determining their authenticity - and he shows us what the past can tell us about the present.A box uncovered in a Maine attic with twenty letters written...

Check the Catalog



Untamed

Author: Glennon Doyle

ISBN: 9781984801258

In her most revealing and powerful book yet, the beloved activist, speaker, and author of the bestselling sensations Love Warrior and Carry On, Warrior explores the joy and peace we discover when we stop striving to meet the expectations of the world, and start trusting the voice deep within us...

Check the Catalog



New Waves: A Novel

Author: Kevin Nguyen

ISBN: 9781984855237

Set in the New York City tech world, a wry and edgy debut novel about a heist gone wrong, a secret online life exposed, and a young man's search for true connectionLucas and Margo are fed up. Margo is a brilliant programmer tired of being talked over as the company's...

Check the Catalog



Precious You: A Novel

Author: Helen Monks Takhar

ISBN: 9781984855961

An obsessive power struggle between an editor and her millennial intern turns dangerous in this debut psychological thriller - for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and You. Trusting you was my first mistake. To Katherine, twenty-four-year-old Lily Lunt is a typical "snowflake." It seems like the privileged, politically correct millennial...

Check the Catalog