Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

To All the Otaku, with Love (May 2021)

Posted 05/28/21 by Joyce S.

Are you a manga or anime enthusiast? We are, too! We are constantly looking for new (and awesome) titles to add to our collection. We are happy to share some of our favorites with you, including some light novels. For more suggestions, please feel free to contact your teen librarian at the Library!

A Library card and PIN will be required to access many of the resources listed.  Need help with your card or PIN?  Contact your nearest location or call 419-259-5200. Need a new card?

Cover of Beastars

Beastars
By Paru Itagaki

At a high school where students are literally divided into predators and prey, friendships maintain a fragile peace. Who among them will become a Beastar—a hero destined to lead in a society naturally rife with mistrust?

Cover of Blue Period

Blue Period
By Tsubasa Yamaguchi

Yatora is the perfect high school student, with good grades and lots of friends. It's an effortless performance, and ultimately... a dull one. He wanders into the art room one day, and a lone painting captures his eye, awakening him to a kind of beauty he never knew. Compelled and consumed, he dives in headfirst. He's about to learn how savage and unforgiving art can be.

Cover of The Heroic Legend of Arslan

The Heroic Legend of Arslan
By Yoshiki Tanaka

To prevent the massacre of an innocent village, Arslan takes on Kharlan and his army. He gets some help from Narsus, Daryun, Elam, and two new formidable allies.

Cover of Jujutsu Kaisen

Jujutsu Kaisen
By Gege Akutami

Yuta Okkotsu is a nervous high school student who is suffering from a serious problem--his childhood friend Rika has turned into a curse and won't leave Yuta alone. Fortunately, his plight is noticed by Satoru Gojo, a teacher at Jujutsu High.

Cover of Manly Appetites

Manly Appetites
By Mito

Minegishi is a successful salaryman, respected by his colleagues. He's got an insatiable desire at the office: he loves feeding his grumpy coworker, Otsu. But is Otsu as hungry as he is? A sweet and savory BL office comedy!

Cover of Neon Genesis Evangelion

Neon Genesis Evangelion
By Yoshiyuki Sadamoto

Shinji never cared about anything. Then he found people to fight for, only to learn that he couldn’t protect them or keep them from going away. As mankind tilts on the brink of the apocalyptic Third Impact, human feelings are fault lines leading to destruction, redemption, and rebirth.

Cover of Love Me for Who I Am

Love Me for Who I Am
By Kata Konayama

Mogumo is a cute but lonely high school student who just wants a few loving friends. Fellow student Iwaoka Tetsu invites Mogumo to work at his family's café for "cross-dressing boys," but he makes an incorrect assumption: Mogumo is non-binary and doesn't identify as a boy or a girl. Mogumo finds out that the café is run by LGBT+ folks of all stripes, all with their own reasons for congregating there. This touching manga explores gender, gender presentation, and sexuality from many different angles, including the ways people are pushed to conform in a world that doesn't understand them...until the world begins to learn, one person at a time.

Cover of Komomo Confiserie

Komomo Confiserie
By Maki Minami

As a little girl, Komomo Ninomiya delighted in picking on Natsu Azumi, the son of her family's pastry chef. Ten years later, when the family fortune is lost and she has no place to live, Komomo encounters Natsu again in her hour of need. Now that Natsu is a master pastry chef in his own right, he'll help Komomo, but only if she works for him at his new confiserie!

Cover of Phantom Thief Jeanne

Phantom Thief Jeanne
By Arina Tanemura

This fantasy shōjo manga chronicles the adventures of a high school girl, Maron Kusakabe, the reincarnation of Jeanne D’Arc, AKA Joan of Arc. She transforms into a phantom thief-magical girl to collect the scattered pieces of God's power, coveted by demons hiding in beautiful artworks.

Cover of Black Bird

Black Bird
By Kanoko Sakurakoji

There is a world of myth and magic that intersects ours, and only a special few can see it. Misao Harada is one such person, and she wants nothing to do with magical realms. She just wants to have a normal high school life and maybe get a boyfriend. All that changes one day when Misao is attacked by a demon. Her childhood friend Kyo returns to save her and tend to her cuts--with his tongue! It turns out Misao is the bride of prophecy, whose blood gives power to the demon clan who claims her. But most demons want to keep her power for themselves--by eating her! Now Misao is just trying to stay alive...and to decide if she likes it when Kyo licks her wounds.

Cover of Aqua

Aqua
By Kozue Amano

April 3rd, 2301. After 150 years of terraforming, planet Mars has become aquatic. With water covering over 90% of its surface area, it has been renamed Aqua. A young girl named Akari Mizunashi arrives in the Aquarian city of Neo-Venezia, an exact replica of the Italian city of Venice. Akari hopes to become an Undine, a female gondolier and tour guide. After landing her job as an intern at Aria Company, she works hard to sharpen her skills and make new friends in the laid-back lifestyle of Aqua.

Cover of The Queen’s Knight

The Queen’s Knight
By Kang-won Kim

When her mother moves to Germany, Yuna Lee is left with her father, a university professor, and her three older brothers, who are fiercely overprotective. During her summer vacation in Germany, Yuna falls off a cliff and is rescued by Rieno, an 18-year-old knight living in the land of Phantasma. Because he has saved her life, Rieno expects Yuna to marry him and become his queen. Indebted to him, Yuna is torn between her normal world back home and life as Phantasma's queen.

Cover of Saint Marie

Saint Marie
By Yeo-Jin Yang

Dah-In Hyun is an ordinary student at Saint Mary's private institution of learning. But soon she finds herself caught in a battle between good and evil, waged on the school grounds. Through the death of her best friend, Dah-In learns she has been chosen as a soldier in the battle which could result in her own death!

Cover of One Fine Day

One Fine Day
By Sirial

Take one fussy dog, a rain-loving cat, and a little mouse with a big sweet tooth, mix in a sprinkle of sunshine and a dash of magic, and you've got a recipe for adventure! Whether they're baking cookies, cleaning up, or helping a friend, this trio always manages to stir up a healthy helping of mischief and fun.

Cover of Lizzie Newton: Victorian Mysteries

Lizzie Newton: Victorian Mysteries
By Hey-Jin Jeon

Lizzie Newton, a young upper-crust lady with a budding career as a mystery writer, is expected to know her place in Victorian society. Her father has arranged for her to marry the handsome Edwin White, who has put his rising career as a lawyer on hold to prove his love to Lizzie. While the headstrong Lizzie tolerates earnest Edwin, she is not yet ready to accept him as her fiance. Besides, Lizzie is distracted by something far more important: an apparent suicide has occurred in the manor, and Lizzie is ready to solve her first real-life murder case! For fans of Jane Austen and Agatha Christie.

Are you an educator interested in a digital classroom collection list for your classroom on a different topic?  Complete our teacher collection request form!

Don’t forget that we also have the following services available:

  • Book Bundles Collections for readers, educators, and licensed childcare providers.
  • Book and Movie Picks Personalized recommendations just for you.
  • Book Kits Pre-selected book collections that are great for small book groups or clubs.

If you have any questions about any of our services, or you’re looking for help outside of the above, feel free to contact a staff member at any location for help.

As always, thank you for your continued support!

OTHER ITEMS YOU MAY ENJOY

Huebner Collection

Read the books and then see the original artwork in person! This is a small sample of books represented in the Huebner Collection.