Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

Psychological Horror: 10 Suspenseful and Creepy Reads

Posted 2 months ago by April S

Posted in eBooks & eAudiobooks, Fiction, Literature, Poetry & Graphic Novels, Movies, Music, & Audiobooks, Mystery & Thrillers, New, Science Fiction & Fantasy and Teen | Tagged with Ghost Stories, Horror, monsters, Psychological Fiction, Psychological Suspense, Short Stories and Suspense Fiction

Fans of Ghost Stories, Horror and Psychological Suspense will surely enjoy these suspenseful and creepy reads. They'll keep you on the edge of your seat and may cause you to loose a little shut eye - perfect for Halloween.

The Deep by Nick Cutter
The Boy Who Drew Monsters by Keith Donohue
Black Mad Wheel by Josh Malerman
Help for the Haunted by John Searles
The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares by Joyce Carol Oates

The Deep by Nick Cutter

Print | eBook

When a seemingly miraculous healing agent is discovered in the Pacific in the wake of a devastating plague, a team of brave heroes descends through pitch-black waters to an incommunicado research lab in the ocean deep.

The Boy Who Drew Monsters by Keith Donohue

Print | Audiobook | eBook

Developing agoraphobia after nearly drowning, a ten-year-old boy draws increasingly disturbing pictures of monsters while his parents search for answers about strange noises coming from the nearby ocean at night.

Black Mad Wheel by Josh Malerman

Print

A Detroit band desperate to reclaim fame is recruited by the government to track down the source of a mysterious sound in the African desert, which they link to an ominous conspiracy and an enigmatic accident victim's remarkable recovery.

Help for the Haunted by John Searles

Print | eBook | eAudio

Struggling with the loss of her parents, who helped haunted souls find peace, Sylvie Mason pursues the mystery, moving closer to the truth of what happened that night as she comes to terms with her family's past.

The Corn Maiden by Joyce Carol Oates

Print

A volume of six stories and novellas by the National Book Award-winning author of We Were the Mulvaneys includes the title story, in which the disappearance of a sweet blonde-haired child is linked to her mother's indiscretions, a too-obvious schoolteacher and an older student with a fascination for a Native American legend.

No One Gets Out Alive by Adam Nevill
The Voices by F.R. Tallis
Bleeding Earth by Kaitlin Ward
Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King
The Grip of It by Jac Jemc

No One Gets Out Alive by Adam Nevill

eBook

Finding an affordable room for rent, Stephanie moves to the cheap Perry Bar neighborhood of Birmingham, but when she begins to hear people in the night who aren't there when the light comes on, she knows she must find a way out.

The Voices by F.R. Tallis

Print

A film soundtrack composer moves his young family into a faded old Victorian house in north London in 1976 and becomes obsessed with the strange voices he begins hearing coming through the baby monitor.

Bleeding Earth by Kaitlin Ward

Print

Wishing she could just spend time with her new girlfriend, Lea struggles with the decline in humanity as an environmental disaster strikes.

Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King

Print | Large Print | Audio | Pocket Audio | eBook | eAudio

Prolific author Stephen King presents a collection of four new novellas. In the story 1922, a man plunges into the depths of madness when his wife attempts to sell off the family home. A mystery writer, who was beaten and raped while driving home from her book club, plots her revenge in Big Driver. Diagnosed with a deadly cancer, a man makes a deal with the devil in Fair Extension. In A Good Marriage, a woman discovers her husband's darker side while he is away on a business trip.

The Grip of It by Jac Jemc

Print

After a young couple moves into a house, they are taunted by strange changes that keep occurring in the house and, in their search for answers, find disturbing facts about their neighbors and the couple who lived in the house before.

Looking for more great scary stories?

10 Great Ghost Stories And Haunting Novels To Keep You Turning Pages Until The Witching Hour This Halloween

Campfire Stories

The Best Halloween Stories for Kids — With Just the Right Amount of Fright

The 30 Best Horror Books of All Time

Psychological Suspense: The Devious Depths of the Human Mind

Give 3 Get 3 (personalized recommendations)

Related Content