Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

The Thrill is Not Gone

Posted 3 months ago by Cindy V

Posted in eBooks and Audiobooks, Mysteries and Thrillers, Science Fiction and Fantasy and Teen and Pre-Teens | Tagged with Historical Fiction, Psychological Fiction, serial killers, suspense, Thrillers and Young Adult Fiction

Serial killers, murder investigations, and killer twists - these books are guaranteed to keep you on the edge of your seat.

Suspenseful Teen Reads

13 minutes / Sarah Pinborough

"13 Minutes" by Sarah Pinborough

Revived after being dead for several minutes, Natasha searches for answers about the suspicious accident that nearly ended her life, an event that implicates her closest friends. Also available in eAudio.

"Acid" by Emma Pass

In the year 2113, seventeen-year-old Jenna Strong is helped to escape from Mileway Maximum Security Prison outside London in order to help destroy ACID, the most brutal and controlling police force in history. Also available in eBook and eAudio.

Acid by Emma Pass
A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

"A Madness So Discreet" by Mindy McGinnis

Mindy McGinnis, the acclaimed author of "Not a Drop to Drink" and "In a Handful of Dust," combines murder, madness, and mystery in a beautifully twisted gothic historical thriller perfect for fans of novels such as "Asylum" and "The Diviners" as well as television's "True Detective" and "American Horror Story." Also available in eBook and eAudio.

"Orphan Monster Spy" by Matt Killeen

When her mother is shot at a checkpoint in 1939 Germany, a blonde-haired, blue-eyed Jewish teen agrees to help a mysterious man who asks her to help the resistance against the Third Reich by posing as the daughter of a wealthy Nazi to gain access to a scientist's weapon designs. Also available in Audio.

Orphan Monster Spy by Matt Killeen
Dare Me by Megan Abbott

"Dare Me" by Megan Abbott 


After a suspicious suicide, the members of a high school cheerleading squad, along with their new, perfectly cool coach, Colette French, are drawn into the investigation. Also available in eBook and eAudio.

"City of Saints & Thieves" by Natalie C. Anderson 

Sixteen-year-old Tina and two friends leave Kenya and slip into the Congo, from where she and her mother fled years before, seeking revenge for her mother's murder but uncovering startling secrets. Also available in eBook and eAudio.

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson
A line in the dark / by Malinda Lo

"A Line in the Dark" by Malinda Lo 

Secretly in love with her best friend Angie, Jess Wong is upset when Angie falls for a girl from a nearby boarding school, but when everybody's secrets start to be revealed, the stakes quickly elevate to life or death. Also available in eAudio.

"Genuine Fraud" by E. Lockhart 

Told through flashbacks, best friends Jule and Imogen are orphaned outcasts who will do almost anything to attain a happy, wealthy life. Also available in eBook and eAudio.

Genuine Fraud by E. Lockhart
The Safest Lies by Megan Miranda

"The Safest Lies" by Megan Miranda 

Living in hiding with a mother who has been a shut-in after a traumatic incident that led to her conception, Kelsey finds herself the subject of media coverage in the aftermath of a dramatic accident that coincides with her mother's disappearance. Also available in eBook and eAudio.

"Savage" by Thomas E. Sniegoski 

Sidney and her friends must race to find the origin of a storm that has hit their small island home turning every animal into a savage weapon. Also available in Audio, eBook and eAudio.

Savage by Thomas E. Sniegoski
The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge

"The Lie Tree" by Frances Hardinge 

On an island off the south coast of Victorian England, fourteen-year-old Faith investigates the mysterious death of her father, who was involved in a scandal, and discovers a tree that feeds upon lies and gives those who eat its fruit visions of truth. Also available in eBook.

"The Rule of Mirrors" by Caragh M. O'Brien 

The entire country was watching when Rosie Sinclair was expelled from Forge, the prestigious arts school that doubles as a reality TV show. This fast-paced, psychologically thrilling sequel to "The Vault of Dreamers" follows Rosie after her consciousness has been split in two, as she struggles to balance a new identity with her old. Also available in eBook and eAudio.

The Rule of Mirrors by Caragh M. O'Brien
With Malice by Eileen Cook

"With Malice" by Eileen Cook 

Waking up in the hospital six weeks after her senior trip to Italy with a broken leg and no memory of what happened, Jill discovers that she is on trial for her role in a suspicious fatal accident. Also available in eBook.

Wait ... we have even more suspenseful reads ...

The Window by Amelia Brunskill
Bad Call by Stephen Wallenfels
One Was Lost by Natalie D. Richards
Twisted Fate by Norah Olson
Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn
Dear Killer by Katherine Ewell

Give 3 Get 3

Looking for your next great read?

Let us help you!

Tell us what you've enjoyed reading, watching or listening to, and our librarians will give you personalized recommendations.

No algorithms, cookies or data mining - just real experts in your community sharing their love of great books, music and movies with you. We call it Give 3 Get 3.

Get started today at

toledolibrary.org/Give3Get!

Related Content