Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

13 Holiday Mysteries to Read Right Now

Posted about 1 month ago by April S

The cold weather is upon us, which means it’s time for a cup of hot tea (or cocoa if you prefer), a warm blanket, and a few good books. Fans of mysteries and holiday-themed stories will love the selections in this blog post!

Cover of Christmas Cupcake Murder

Christmas Cupcake Murder
By Joanne Fluke

Print   |   Large print   |   eBook (OverDrive)   |   eAudiobook (OverDrive)

The perfect book for people who enjoy upbeat gentle reads and/or cozy mysteries with a culinary theme. Fans of the popular Hannah Swensen mystery series will be surprised to discover details of Hannah’s origin story and delicious holiday recipes throughout this page-turner. Hannah Swensen mystery, book 26.

Cover of Have Yourself a Fudgy Little Christmas

Have Yourself a Fudgy Little Christmas
By Nancy Coco

print   |   eBook (OverDrive)   |   eBook (hoopla)

A holiday mystery set on Mackinac Island in Michigan. Allie McMurphy, a local fudge shop owner, is tasked with wrapping up a mysterious murder case, where things are not what they seem, before the trail runs cold. This cozy culinary mystery will appeal to fans of gentle reads featuring amateur detectives. Candy-Coated mystery, book 8.

Cover of A Christmas Carol Murder

A Christmas Carol Murder
By Heather Redmond

print   |   eBook (hoopla)   |   eAudiobook (hoopla)

A group of friends are out caroling when they are surprised by a murder out of nowhere. Great pick for fans of historical mysteries set in the Victorian era. Dickens of a Crime, book 3.

Cover of Midwinter Murder: Fireside Tales from the Queen of Mystery

Midwinter Murder: Fireside Tales from the Queen of Mystery
By Agatha Christie

print   |   Audiobook (CD)   |   eBook (OverDrive)   |   eAudiobook (OverDrive)

A reprint collection from the timeless Agatha Christie featuring 11 stories perfect for fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple.

Cover of Silent Knit, Deadly Knit

Silent Knit, Deadly Knit
By Peggy Ehrhart

print   |   eBook (OverDrive)   |   eBook (hoopla)   |   eAudiobook (hoopla)

Pamela and her knitting pals must unravel a real whodunnit in record time to restore the holiday spirit in their charming town. Fans of gentle reads, knitting mysteries, amateur detectives and small-town life will enjoy this holiday mystery that also includes knitting tips and a recipe to boot! Knit & Nibble mystery, book 4.

Cover of Owl Be Home for Christmas

Owl Be Home for Christmas
By Donna Andrews

print   |   Large print   |   Audiobook (CD)   |   eBook (OverDrive)   |   eAudiobook (hoopla)

A fast-paced cozy mystery full of twists, turns, quirky characters, and offbeat humor that’s sure to appeal to fans of gentle reads and holiday mysteries. Meg Langslow mystery, book 26.

Cover of Silent Bite

Silent Bite
By David Rosenfelt

print   |   Large print   |   Audiobook (CD)   |   eBook (OverDrive)   |   eAudiobook (OverDrive)

A witty mystery featuring a semi-retired snarky lawyer who’s tasked with defending a mechanic accused of murder. The evidence appears to be stacking up against the defendant, but the lawyer believes it’s possible he’s looking at a frame job. Andy Carpenter mystery, book 22.

More Holiday Mysteries to Enjoy!

Cover of Have Yourself a Beary Little Murder

Have Yourself a Beary Little Murder

print   |   eBook (OverDrive)   |   eBook (hoopla)
Cover of Here Comes Santa Paws

Here Comes Santa Paws

print   |   eBook (OverDrive)   |   eBook (hoopla)
Cover of Christmas Cocoa Murder

Christmas Cocoa Murder

print   |   eBook (hoopla)   |   eAudiobook (hoopla)
Cover of A Cup of Holiday Fear

A Cup of Holiday Fear

print   |   eBook (OverDrive)
Cover of A Midwinter’s Tail

A Midwinter’s Tail

print   |   eBook (OverDrive)   |   eBook (hoopla)   |   eAudiobook (hoopla)
Cover of A Killer Carol

A Killer Carol

print

Related Blog Posts

Holiday-Themed Mysteries that are So Good You'll Want to Read Them Year-Round

Knitting a Few Good Yarns: Themed Cozy Mysteries

20 Entertaining Cozies

Related Content