13 Holiday Mysteries to Read Right Now

Posted on December 4, 2020

by April S

The cold weather is upon us, which means it’s time for a cup of hot tea (or cocoa if you prefer), a warm blanket, and a few good books. Fans of mysteries and holiday-themed stories will love the selections in this blog post!

Cover of Christmas Cupcake Murder

Christmas Cupcake Murder

By Joanne Fluke

Print

|

Large print

|

eBook (OverDrive)

|

eAudiobook (OverDrive)

The perfect book for people who enjoy upbeat gentle reads and/or cozy mysteries with a culinary theme. Fans of the popular Hannah Swensen mystery series will be surprised to discover details of Hannah’s origin story and delicious holiday recipes throughout this page-turner. Hannah Swensen mystery, book 26.

Cover of Have Yourself a Fudgy Little Christmas

Have Yourself a Fudgy Little Christmas

By Nancy Coco

print

|

eBook (OverDrive)

|

eBook (hoopla)

A holiday mystery set on Mackinac Island in Michigan. Allie McMurphy, a local fudge shop owner, is tasked with wrapping up a mysterious murder case, where things are not what they seem, before the trail runs cold. This cozy culinary mystery will appeal to fans of gentle reads featuring amateur detectives. Candy-Coated mystery, book 8.

Cover of A Christmas Carol Murder

A Christmas Carol Murder

By Heather Redmond

print

|

eBook (hoopla)

|

eAudiobook (hoopla)

A group of friends are out caroling when they are surprised by a murder out of nowhere. Great pick for fans of historical mysteries set in the Victorian era. Dickens of a Crime, book 3.

Cover of Midwinter Murder: Fireside Tales from the Queen of Mystery

Midwinter Murder: Fireside Tales from the Queen of Mystery

By Agatha Christie

print

|

Audiobook (CD)

|

eBook (OverDrive)

|

eAudiobook (OverDrive)

A reprint collection from the timeless Agatha Christie featuring 11 stories perfect for fans of Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple.

Cover of Silent Knit, Deadly Knit

Silent Knit, Deadly Knit

By Peggy Ehrhart

print

|

eBook (OverDrive)

|

eBook (hoopla)

|

eAudiobook (hoopla)

Pamela and her knitting pals must unravel a real whodunnit in record time to restore the holiday spirit in their charming town. Fans of gentle reads, knitting mysteries, amateur detectives and small-town life will enjoy this holiday mystery that also includes knitting tips and a recipe to boot! Knit & Nibble mystery, book 4.

Cover of Owl Be Home for Christmas

Owl Be Home for Christmas

By Donna Andrews

print

|

Large print

|

Audiobook (CD)

|

eBook (OverDrive)

|

eAudiobook (hoopla)

A fast-paced cozy mystery full of twists, turns, quirky characters, and offbeat humor that’s sure to appeal to fans of gentle reads and holiday mysteries. Meg Langslow mystery, book 26.

Cover of Silent Bite

Silent Bite

By David Rosenfelt

print

|

Large print

|

Audiobook (CD)

|

eBook (OverDrive)

|

eAudiobook (OverDrive)

A witty mystery featuring a semi-retired snarky lawyer who’s tasked with defending a mechanic accused of murder. The evidence appears to be stacking up against the defendant, but the lawyer believes it’s possible he’s looking at a frame job. Andy Carpenter mystery, book 22.

More Holiday Mysteries to Enjoy!

Cover of Have Yourself a Beary Little Murder Cover of Have Yourself a Beary Little Murder

Have Yourself a Beary Little Murder

print

|

eBook (OverDrive)

|

eBook (hoopla)

Cover of Here Comes Santa Paws Cover of Here Comes Santa Paws

Here Comes Santa Paws

print

|

eBook (OverDrive)

|

eBook (hoopla)

Cover of Christmas Cocoa Murder Cover of Christmas Cocoa Murder

Christmas Cocoa Murder

print

|

eBook (hoopla)

|

eAudiobook (hoopla)

Looking for more related content?

Here are a few selections just for you!

  • The Breaking Bad saga is wrapping up with the final season of Better Call Saul. If you're looking to recapture the edge of your seat twists and turns that show provides, these are the books for you.

  • Celebrate the return of Stranger Things with 15 classics from the ‘80s.

  • All of these books have call numbers which means it's all real, right? Right?