Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

Children's Library & Teen Recommends - Spring 2021

Posted 04/14/21 by Joyce S.

Youth Services Librarians love to read, too! Check out what your favorite Children’s and Teen Librarians at Main Library are reading, whether it be a picture book about penguins, a middle grade adventure in a treehouse, vampires in Louisiana, or a time-traveling phone booth!

The Children’s Library is located on the second floor of the Main Library. If you have questions about our collection, please feel free to email Childrens.Library@toledolibrary.org or call 419.259.5231.

The Teen Library can be found on the first floor, next to Making, which houses the Making Lab as well as the video and music production studios. For all teen-related inquiries, reach out to us at Teen.Library@toledolibrary.org or call 419.259.5297.

We hope that you continue to enjoy the reading recommendations feature in our blog posts. Of course, you do not have to stop here! Let us know if you’d like additional recommendations. Be sure to check out our kids and teen program calendar and subscribe to our YouTube channel for Saturday Morning Virtual Storytimes and other great virtual happenings! We are here for you!

Cover of Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower

Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower
By Brittney Cooper

eBook   |   eAudiobook

Eloquent Rage is both a powerful and unapologetic account of black feminism. Brittany Cooper masterfully intertwines race, sex, politics, and the complexities of friendships.

Three reasons to read this book:

  1. Learn from a different perspective
  2. Explore how anger can be a powerful source for self-discovery
  3. A captivating read!

Cover of Mooncakes

Mooncakes
By Suzanne Walker

Graphic Novel

A sweet, spellbinding story that will catch the attention of magic lovers with a dash of romance. Mooncakes is a story about Nova Huang, a teenage witch who knows magic. She works at her grandmother’s New England bookshop, loaning out spell books and investigating supernatural occurrences. She follows a white wolf into the woods one night and comes across her friend Tam brawling with a horse demon. It turns out that Tam is a werewolf and has been wandering around for years, without a home. Tam turns to Nova for help since the werewolves are about to be taken over by dark magic. Check out this 2020 Hugo Award Nominee and 2020 ALA Top Ten Book!

Cover of Lupe Wong Won't Dance

Lupe Wong Won't Dance
By Donna Barba Higuera

hoopla eAudiobook   |   hoopla ebook

7th grader Lupe Wong will cease to exist if she doesn't get straight A's. Cease to exist may sound drastic, but not to Lupe. After the sudden addition of square dancing to the physical education curriculum, her dream of meeting fellow Chinacan/Mexinese baseball player Fu Li Hernandez is ruined. If she doesn't get straight A's, she can't go, and Lupe can't dance. Explore middle school through the eyes of Lupe and her lovable and always supportive friends. If you love to laugh, stand up for what's right, and voice your opinion, you will enjoy Lupe Wong Won't Dance.

Cover of TBH, This is SO Awkward: a novel in text

TBH, This is SO Awkward: a novel in text
By Lisa Greenwald

eBook   |   hoopla eBook

Book 1 in the TBH series written entirely in email, notes and texts with plenty of emojis! BFFAE Gabby, Cecily and Prianka chat about classes, the upcoming middle school dance, and the new girl. When an OMG text causes totes hurt feelings, can the girls keep everything 2gether? Ups and downs of friendship. Online bullying. Texting glossary included!

Cover of The Phantom Tollbooth

The Phantom Tollbooth
By Norton Juster

Ebook   |   eAudiobook   |   Book Kit

A boring afternoon turns into a magical journey through a world where nothing is as it seems after driving through a mysterious tollbooth. Here are just three reasons to read this book: For fans of Alice in Wonderland or Chronicles of Narnia, readers who like journeys through magical worlds, and anyone who enjoys a good pun.

Cover of Chirp

Chirp
By Kate Messner

eAudiobook   |   eBook   |   hoopla eAudiobook

Mia and her family are moving back to Vermont in the summer after her seventh-grade year to be closer to her grandmother who has had a stroke. Despite her health problems, her grandmother is developing a cricket breeding business to raise the insects for food. Unfortunately, it appears that someone is trying to sabotage the business. As Mia and her new friends investigate the sabotage, the story examines another mystery: why Mia is no longer interested in competing in gymnastics. Themes include: Quirky grandmothers, Strong and smart girls, and Tough topics handled well.

Cover of On Wings of Words, The Extraordinary Life of Emily Dickinson

On Wings of Words, The Extraordinary Life of Emily Dickinson
By Jennifer Berne

eBook

"My heart grows light so fast that I could mount a grasshopper and gallop around the world, and not fatigue him any!" The life and words of Emily Dickinson are celebrated in this magnificent picture biography of the gifted poet. Your heart will grow light as you explore the soul of an artist as she pens her profound musings on life. Well worth reading at any age, On Wings of Words is both delicate and mighty, contemplative and spirited, just like Emily Dickinson.

Reasons to Read: April is Poetry Month. (or March is Women's History Month.) Feeds the soul. To dwell in possibility.

OTHER ITEMS YOU MAY ENJOY