Blog

The Blog of Toledo Lucas County Public Library

Children's Library & Teen Recommends - Spring 2021

Posted 04/27/21 by Joyce S.

Youth Services librarians love to read, too! Check out what your favorite children’s and teen librarians at Main Library are reading.

A Library card and PIN will be required to access many of the resources listed.  Need help with your card or PIN?  Contact your nearest location or call 419-259-5200. Need a new card?

Cover of Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower

Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower
By Brittney Cooper

eBook   |   eAudiobook

Eloquent Rage is both a powerful and unapologetic account of black feminism. Brittany Cooper masterfully intertwines race, sex, politics, and the complexities of friendships.

Three reasons to read this book:

  1. Learn from a different perspective.
  2. Explore how anger can be a powerful source for self-discovery.
  3. A captivating read.

Cover of Mooncakes

Mooncakes
By Suzanne Walker

A sweet, spellbinding story with a dash of romance that will catch the attention of magic lovers. Mooncakes is a story about Nova Huang, a teenage witch who knows magic. She works at her grandmother’s New England bookshop, loaning out spell books and investigating supernatural occurrences. She follows a white wolf into the woods one night and comes across her friend Tam brawling with a horse demon. It turns out that Tam is a werewolf and has been wandering around for years without a home. Tam turns to Nova for help since the werewolves are about to be taken over by dark magic. Check out this 2020 Hugo Award Nominee and 2020 ALA Top Ten Book!

Cover of Lupe Wong Won't Dance

Lupe Wong Won't Dance
By Donna Barba Higuera

hoopla ebook   |   hoopla eAudiobook

Seventh grader Lupe Wong will cease to exist if she doesn't get straight A's. Cease to exist may sound drastic, but not to Lupe! After the sudden addition of square dancing to the physical education curriculum, her dream of meeting fellow Chinacan/Mexinese baseball player Fu Li Hernandez is ruined. If she doesn't get straight A's, she can't go, and Lupe can't dance! Explore middle school through the eyes of Lupe and her lovable and supportive friends. If you love to laugh, stand up for what's right, and voice your opinion, you will enjoy Lupe Wong Won't Dance.

Cover of TBH, This is SO Awkward: a Novel in Text

TBH, This is SO Awkward: a Novel in Text
By Lisa Greenwald

eBook   |   hoopla

Book 1 in the TBH series, written entirely in email, notes and texts with plenty of emojis! BFFAE Gabby, Cecily and Prianka chat about classes, the upcoming middle school dance and the new girl. When an OMG text causes hurt feelings, can the girls keep everything 2gether? Texting glossary included!

Cover of The Phantom Tollbooth

The Phantom Tollbooth
By Norton Juster

eBook   |   eAudiobook   |   Book Kit

After driving through a mysterious tollbooth, a boring afternoon turns into a magical journey through a world where nothing is as it seems. Three reasons to read this book:

  1. Great for fans of Alice in Wonderland or Chronicles of Narnia.
  2. Journeys through magical worlds.
  3. Puns!

Cover of Chirp

Chirp
By Kate Messner

eBook   |   eAudiobook   |   hoopla

Mia and her family move back to Vermont in the summer after her seventh-grade year to be closer to her grandmother, who has had a stroke. Despite her health problems, her grandmother is developing a cricket breeding business, raising the insects for food. Three reasons to read this book:

  1. Quirky grandmother.
  2. Strong and smart girls.
  3. Tough topic handled well.

Cover of On Wings of Words, The Extraordinary Life of Emily Dickinson

On Wings of Words, The Extraordinary Life of Emily Dickinson
By Jennifer Berne

eBook

"My heart grows light so fast that I could mount a grasshopper and gallop around the world, and not fatigue him any!" The life and words of Emily Dickinson are celebrated in this magnificent picture biography of the gifted poet. Your heart will grow light as you explore the soul of an artist as she pens her profound musings on life. Well worth reading at any age, On Wings of Words is both delicate and mighty, contemplative and spirited, just like Emily Dickinson.

Three reasons to read this book:

  1. April is Poetry Month.
  2. Feeds the soul.
  3. To dwell in possibility.

Interested in resources on a different topic?  Complete our teacher collection request form or contact any location for help. 

Be sure to check out our kids and teen program calendar and subscribe to our YouTube channel for Saturday Morning Virtual Storytimes and other great virtual happenings! We are here for you!

OTHER ITEMS YOU MAY ENJOY