Hot Titles For Summer And Fall 2016

Posted on May 27, 2016

by Amy H

Book Expo America (BEA) is where publishers meet to announce their rising stars and most anticipated titles for summer and fall, and I had a great time finding out about the cream of the crop.

Here are the highlights of what to look out for now and later this year …

Currently On Order

Before the Fall by Noah Hawley

Before the Fall by Noah Hawley Coming May 31th

From the award-winning creator of the television show Fargo comes a story about the only two survivors of a plane crash: a down-and-out artist and a small boy who has just inherited a media empire.

Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley

Lily and the Octopus by Steven Rowley Coming June 7th

This poignant tribute to an aging dog and his man is an adventure of the heart that combines the emotional depth of The Art of Racing in the Rain with the magical spirit of The Life of Pi.

I Almost Forgot About You by Terry McMillan

I Almost Forgot About You by Terry McMillan Coming June 7th

The bestselling author of How Stella Got Her Groove Back and Waiting To Exhale is back with the inspiring story of a woman who shakes things up in her life to find greater meaning, showing it is never too late to become the person you want to be and that taking chances, both with your life and your heart, is always worthwhile.

The Girls by Emma Cline

The Girls by Emma Cline Coming June 14th

A middle-aged woman looks back on her experience with a California cult reminiscent of the Manson Family in Cline’s provocative, wonderfully written debut.

Coming Soon …

Available for reserve in catalog 5 weeks prior to publication.

Summer 2016

All Is Not Forgotten by Wendy WalkerAll Is Not Forgotten by Wendy Walker Coming July 12th

Riveting Gone Girl read-alike.

The Nix by Nathan HillThe Nix by Nathan Hill Coming August 30th

Tragicomedy about anger and sanctimony in America, similar to The World According to Garp.

A Great Reckoning by Louise PennyA Great Reckoning by Louise Penny Coming August 30th

Inspector Gamache comes out of retirement to clean up the corrupt Surete Academy du Quebec.

Fall 2016

Darktown by Thomas MullenDarktown by Thomas Mullen Coming September 6th

Compulsively readable cross between In the Heat of the Night and The Wire.

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead Coming September 13th

A Pulitzer Prize finalist and MacArthur Fellow goes all out in this imaginative reconstruction of the antebellum South where the Underground Railroad is not metaphorical but real; tracks and tunnels hidden beneath the soil. Whitehead continues the African-American artists’ inquiry into race mythology and history with rousing audacity and razor-sharp ingenuity; he is now assuredly a writer of the first rank.

Leave Me by Gayle FormanLeave Me by Gayle Forman Coming September 13th

Best-selling YA author of If I Stay, goes adult with this story of working mother Maribeth Klein, so frantic she doesn’t realize she’s had a heart attack. Upset that her recuperation seems an imposition on others, she packs her bags and flees.

The Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny ColganThe Bookshop on the Corner by Jenny Colgan Coming Sept 20th

Nina Redmond is a librarian with a gift for finding the perfect book for her readers. But can she write her own happy-ever-after? The New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery returns with a funny, moving new novel perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella.

Today Will Be Different by Maria SempleToday Will Be Different by Maria Semple Coming October 4th

The best-selling author of Where’d You Go Bernadette? Presents a hilarious, heart-filled story about reinvention, sisterhood, and how sometimes it takes facing up to our former selves to truly begin living.

The Mothers by Brit BennettThe Mothers by Brit Bennett Coming October 11th

In a contemporary black community in Southern California, 17-year-old Nadia Turner and 21-year-old Luke Sheppard fall in love. She’s lost her mother to suicide, he’s lost a football career to injury, and the decisions they make when Nadia becomes pregnant will reverberate throughout their lives.

Small Great Things by Jodi PicoultSmall Great Things by Jodi Picoult Coming October 11th

Parents at a hospital to have a baby insist that one of the nurses be reassigned; they are white supremacists and Ruth is black. The hospital complies, but Ruth is the only nurse available when the baby goes into cardiac arrest, and her caution about rushing to the baby’s aid leads to tragedy–and a trial. What’s crucial is the unfolding of a deeper understanding between Ruth and her (white) public defender, who is initially reluctant to make race an issue.

Looking for more related content?

Here are a few selections just for you!

  • The Breaking Bad saga is wrapping up with the final season of Better Call Saul. If you're looking to recapture the edge of your seat twists and turns that show provides, these are the books for you.

  • Celebrate the return of Stranger Things with 15 classics from the ‘80s.

  • All of these books have call numbers which means it's all real, right? Right?